PDA

View Full Version : Alpha Centauri PBEM club

IDtenT
12-08-2011, 11:25 AM
Hey guys.

There seems to be a lot of interest surrounding Alpha Centauri still, yet the only active forum based PBEM game I can find on the Internet is one hosted on SomethingAwful. It does look fun though, so I was thinking, why don't we try it?

Firstly, I'm no expert on the game. I love it, but I've never been /that/ good at 4X games.

Basically the idea is that we have at least someone to play every faction known to the vanilla game. The leader of said faction can then officially share his game with someone else, if he feels he needs an extra mind or two (or goes on vacation, etc).

We will also need a DM, who will hold all the password keys (in case someone disappears/gets kicked) and serve as an auditor of sorts if someone is suspected of using exploits/cheats (the workload should be /really/ low.) The DM can also work as a narrator, if he so wishes, or whatever tickles his fancy.

The basic rules for now:
1) No use of known exploits that will decrease the fairness of the game.
2) <del>Completing your turn within 24 hours of receipt of email. Exceptions can and will be made.</del> Faction turns will be taken on a given day of the week. (This might force some people who cannot possibly organise a response on a certain day of the week, to not play certain factions, but we'll try and sort it out as we start the game.)
3) A turn can be retracted, but needs to be done within 30min of sending the game on in email, with a new email saying that the previous one is invalid. This as long as rule 2 is still satisfied.
4) No communication with the members of the other factions out of game, while still in character.
4a) An exception to the above rule is that this thread is a FFA and if you're willing to part with sensitive information on here, then you are welcome. However you are still obliged to not discuss diplomacy on here.
x) Rule placeholder.
9001) Have fun.