PDA

View Full Version : Opera Browser - anyone using it?

BillButNotBen
06-10-2011, 05:21 PM
After using firefox for years I've gotten fed up with it's recent sluggishness, annoying daily updates that break my extensions, and generally becoming annoying.

I tried chrome - and it has some nice features, but if i open more than 15 tabs it crawls like a very very very slow slug.

Yet opera seems to run really responsively with 20-30 tabs open and have some nice built in features. But it has minimal extensions right now... and i hear some sites don't work well with it.

Anyone using Opera and care to comment on whether there are any drawbacks or any sites that don't work?

Wolfenswan
06-10-2011, 05:36 PM
I have no experience with Opera but I've been using the chromium fork SRWare Iron (http://www.srware.net/en/software_srware_iron.php) for a while. It's faster than Chrome and I never experienced any slowdowns even with loads of tabs. All regular chrome extensions are compatible, only downside is that there's no auto update so you have to check back once in a while.

Vexing Vision
06-10-2011, 06:28 PM
Opera is my main browser both at work and at home, because I do tend to have at least 10 windows (I don't do tabs, I overlap 'em so I can see in the corners of my eyes if something flickers - yeah, I know) open simultaneously. I love mouse gestures (I know there's apps for that) and the way Opera handles resources. It grabs them for processing when there's resources to spare, and releases them very, very quickly.

I do have issues with a few sites. Google+ is a main offender. But since Google now merges accounts anyway I use an instance of Chrome for emails and G+ stuff and webpages that require an Internet Explorer to click on things (fucking Korean developers, seriously), and Opera for everything else.

BillButNotBen
07-10-2011, 04:21 PM