PDA

View Full Version : A question for those who've played both versions of Dear Esther (spoilers?)

dbdkmezz
15-02-2012, 01:08 AM
I've just finished Dear Esther, obviously it was wonderful :)

Anyway, I've got a much less interesting question. In the original I remember a number of times I seemed to glimpse views of a silhouette of a person far in the distance. But I never saw this in the remake. So I'm wondering:
a) was I just seeing things when I played the original?
b) was it removed in the remake
c) was it there in both, but I've just gone blind?

Sorry to ask such a trivial question of such an interesting game. But I'm intrigued to see what they changed (the change I loved most was the addition of the underwater M6).

Thanks!

vinraith
15-02-2012, 01:27 AM
Silhouettes were definitely present in the original. Hell, I actually had what I presume was a glitch, where I was able to walk right up to one and stare it in the face.

realmadz
15-02-2012, 04:40 AM
I just started playing the new version of Dear Esther and I saw a black silhouette walking in the distance. You can see one shortly after the start of chapter 2 The buoy. Here`s my screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/KpU67.jpg

JackShandy
15-02-2012, 05:40 AM
That glitch was my most memorable moment in Dear Esther. Walked in, saw a silhouette woman in the shack - was this esther? Then I turned around and she disappeared.

Miker
15-02-2012, 06:10 AM
Okay, just finished Dear Esther. Spoilers ahead!

What was the story about? I understand it's up to interpretation and there's multiple versions of it what with the random dialogue, but I came away rather confused over the whole thing. From what I could gather, Esther was somehow killed in a car accident...and that's about it. I'm really not sure the references to Damascus were about, nor am I sure who the narrator is and what the island has to do with anything. Can somebody fill me in with a short summary of their interpretation of the story?

dbdkmezz