PDA

View Full Version : Hey, could use some advice.



Kefirz
02-04-2012, 05:41 PM
So my problem with arma 2 is that it gives me random crashes where I can hear people and stuff going on in real time, but all I see is a black screen. This was happening in arma2:Free also, but since I added this ''-cpuCount=2;-maxmem=2047'' line to original arma2 I don't notice it (I also have grass layer set to ''disable'') but that line doesn't seem to work it's magic in arma2:CO
I have found a trick how to resolve it temporarily, but it is really annoying the fix is that I hold shift + ''-'' release it and type ''flush'' .
So what I am asking is that maybe you have some tips (or tricks) to fix this, I have contacted BI but no response :(

I couldn't attach my Dxdiag, but in short I have:
4gb ram
1gb radeon hd 5540
2,6 ghz

here is the full one:

http://ge.tt/2ywHGoF/v/0?c

P.S I know arma2 is a CPU thirsty game, but this problem was in arma2:free and they have low texture graphics.

Siddin
02-04-2012, 06:48 PM
One sure way to disable the grass (basically set ground texture to low) is to use the InstantViewdistance mod (link) (http://www.armaholic.com/page.php?id=7139). It allows you to change the view distance and texture quality while ingame. It doesn't work on adversarial missions though.

Tink
03-04-2012, 10:06 AM
Yeah, I had the same problem back when I was using 2 4850's. Unfortunately my fix was to get a new graphics card with more memory. I did manage to delay it happening by dropping the maxmem line (you could try 1024 instead of 2047) but as I say that only delayed the blackscreen for an hour or so.