PDA

View Full Version : Unofficial ACRE Sessions



Head
28-08-2012, 12:19 AM
This is not an official event,this is an event organized by members of ARPS for those who are interested in ACRE


Hello guys!


I've been talking about this for quite some time now, and finally I've bit the bullet and completed my F2 Folk with ACRE support
They work both ways with or without ACRE.


Now i know there are quite a few people here who are interested in playing with ACRE and possibly in the future with ACE, Of course first I would like to probe our fine community on how many roughly would come to this sort of thing.


Vote above, and please if you have something more to say post away.




Resources
http://youtu.be/09jy0in3JZs - ACRE Tutorial part one by yours truly
http://youtu.be/CgHG0l7V-84 - ACRE Tutorial part two by yours truly
Threeupdater (http://baystation12.net/arma/threeupdater/ThreeUpdater.application) - ACRE installer by yours truly (you need to install the beta patch yourself, it has it own installer,You also need to create a shortcut yourself.) (Tested on my computer and it worked fine)
http://baystation12.net/arma/acre_install.txt - Text Install guide with troubleshooting
http://www.arma2.com/beta-patch.php - Beta patches
-Coming later-
http://baystation12.net/arma - If you wish to install the acre files yourself.

fer
28-08-2012, 12:53 AM
As soon as all the paperwork is complete, the ACRE-compatible build of F2 that comrade Head has been making in his Bureau of Radiophonic Simulation will be downloadable from the F2 wiki (http://www.ferstaberinde.com/f2/en/).

Harlander
30-08-2012, 09:59 AM
Looks like a modest but notable response. Are we gonna do this?

Head
30-08-2012, 01:56 PM
Looks like a modest but notable response. Are we gonna do this?


Yes yes!, Since F2 stuff haven't been sorted out yet, how about i set up a small training session for tomorrow(Friday 19.30BST) so everyone can try out there ACRE and get comfortable with it?.

Harlander
30-08-2012, 02:25 PM
Sounds good.

I wonder if we'll bump into the "positional audio inexplicably not working for some people" bug..

Black Mamba
30-08-2012, 02:41 PM
I usually run into the "ACRE's randomly not working" bug. Which is why i never really could try this. I hope i can make it this time!
Would this use Folk's Teamspeak?

Head
30-08-2012, 07:53 PM
Make sure you are running both Teamspeak and Arma 2 with admin rights.


EDIT:

Here's my ThreeUpdater application that will install mods for you, yay

baystation12.net/arma/threeupdater/ThreeUpdater.application

fer
30-08-2012, 11:24 PM
Would this use Folk's Teamspeak?

A brand new channel, Folk ACRE, has been constructed by members of local workers' collective. A Party administrator will be along to open it officially later, but comrades can enjoy this new facility right now.

Head
31-08-2012, 01:30 PM
Oh by the way , if there is a F2 mission you'd like to see in the mission please PM the details and il convert them to the ACRE F2(since can't really release it now)


Also here's a breif on how to test / install ACRE


Use my ThreeUpdater, Download ACRE,Jayarma2lib_new,and all three cba's.
Install the beta patch
Use for example the arma2 launcher to create a shortcut (dont forget the beta toggle in the second tab)( http://bit.ly/RtyVO2 )

How to Test?
1. Join a teamspeak 3 server(for example folks)
2. Create your own game with ACRE loaded
3. Use CAPSLOCK if you hear the squeaks clearly you are all ready to go.


Notes:
Remember to unset your in-game VON key if its the default "CAPSLOCK" otherwise you will broadcast.
I'l be on the FOLK teamspeak at 19.00BST to help.


I really do hope i can get at-least one new mission going on the new F2.

TheBlobThing
31-08-2012, 01:38 PM
Wow, that's a shitty installation process. The installer doesn't work of course (can't find "arma2co.exe"? What the hell?).

Hope it works for tonight, but not holding my breath.

Head
31-08-2012, 02:20 PM
Wow, that's a shitty installation process. The installer doesn't work of course (can't find "arma2co.exe"? What the hell?).

Hope it works for tonight, but not holding my breath.

Well obviously you need to point it to your ARMA2 CO folder.

Try the new link..

TheBlobThing
31-08-2012, 03:06 PM
Sorry if I came across as a bit... well, cross. Not venting any rage towards you, I was just frustrated that the installer didn't seem to work at all.

I'll try the new link, but I don't have an Arma 2 CO folder. I use the Steam version, and install all my mods and stuff from OA.

Edit: Got it to work. I'm ready for tonight and will be there.

Head
31-08-2012, 03:28 PM
I just noticed the typo there, it does acually search for the arma2oa.exe and on the steam version it should be

/steamapps/Armed Assualt somethng something.

Medic Roe
01-09-2012, 05:22 AM
I like.

ACRE would be useful for communications.

Although, don't like their list and vehicle rack screens require ACE?

Harlander
01-09-2012, 09:27 AM
The comms seemed a lot easier to listen to and understand than cc-on-mumble - on the other hand, we didn't have 40+ people in the test session, so how it scales remains to be seen.

Head
03-09-2012, 03:36 PM
The comms seemed a lot easier to listen to and understand than cc-on-mumble - on the other hand, we didn't have 40+ people in the test session, so how it scales remains to be seen.
We can only hope, If anyone is interested in testing a mission in ACRE environment, send me a pm and il send my ACRE F2 compatible build for testing.

Black Mamba
03-09-2012, 06:26 PM
Just a quick suggestion.
ST Volume control
(http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=oSfqRf8TvP4)

jRides
03-09-2012, 10:06 PM
I think I would need more training/testing as I my initial impression of ACRE was that it was terrible; the fact that it disables all communication apart from the radio just seemed daft, the loss of direct communication too much - I could understand them shutting down group/side/command and vehicle chats, but only being able to communicate to a guy standing right next to you by switching to the appropriate radio and trying to figure out what channel he was on? Sweet jeebus.

But just now I read from the youtube comments from Black Mambas link above that the normal ts ptt should be directional voice, and the in game von becomes the radio! Oh, that's better - maybe something was wrong with my set up? Maybe it was working fine but I just didn't know it. It didn't help turning up late and missing the introduction, but 7:30pm is a struggle for me.

Also, I used Heads three Updater package to install and that worked a treat, very easy to use, no problems at all - all I had to do was set up an appropriate shortcut to activate the mod.

SuperÜ
03-09-2012, 11:08 PM
Big pointer J rides, ACRE replaces standard direct managed by the in-game VON to a direct comms that is managed through teamspeak. This results in a far more acurate and better sounding direct.

ACRE does not use ingame VON at all. (unless the server is set up wrong)

Head
04-09-2012, 07:25 AM
I think I would need more training/testing as I my initial impression of ACRE was that it was terrible; the fact that it disables all communication apart from the radio just seemed daft, the loss of direct communication too much - I could understand them shutting down group/side/command and vehicle chats, but only being able to communicate to a guy standing right next to you by switching to the appropriate radio and trying to figure out what channel he was on? Sweet jeebus.

But just now I read from the youtube comments from Black Mambas link above that the normal ts ptt should be directional voice, and the in game von becomes the radio! Oh, that's better - maybe something was wrong with my set up? Maybe it was working fine but I just didn't know it. It didn't help turning up late and missing the introduction, but 7:30pm is a struggle for me.

Also, I used Heads three Updater package to install and that worked a treat, very easy to use, no problems at all - all I had to do was set up an appropriate shortcut to activate the mod.


Pretty common misconception right there, ACRE adds proper 3D direct communication that actually works proper, while adding radios.

You use your normal teamspeak PTT to use it.

kalelovil
04-09-2012, 08:15 AM
It had a bit of difficulty setting everything up (although part of that could be blamed on the state of my ArmA2 directory), but once it was setup everything seemed to work correctly.
I'd be interested in future sessions, hopefully with a greater number of people.

Head
06-09-2012, 08:44 AM
Were in a bit pinch for tomarrow, we need a few <20 players missions, (il convert them to F2 ACRE) if you provide them <3

kalelovil
06-09-2012, 08:58 AM
Were in a bit pinch for tomarrow, we need a few <20 players missions, (il convert them to F2 ACRE) if you provide them <3

Black Mamba was interested in converted one of my missions to ACRE and I've PMed him about that (on the Folk forum).

daf
06-09-2012, 02:28 PM
Well I gave it a go at installing this thing and after some minor hickups (which were likely caused by insisting in doing everything by hand) I finally got it to work, or at least it should be.

I'll be around next friday to do a proper test if something starts up :)

Head
06-09-2012, 09:03 PM
Tomorrows Session is cancelled due to...


Me moving!, in any case next week, we roll again with hopefully a few new missions.

Have a good day/night.

Head
06-09-2012, 09:56 PM
EDIT EDIT, its not tomarrow, i can not read.

Next week tho!

NEW MISSIONZ EVERYWHERE

Tink
07-09-2012, 10:15 AM
Yay, now that I have ACRE working again I will try to be there.

Thanks Wash and Dvorak.

Head
12-09-2012, 07:44 PM
This week's session is on!

Black Mamba
12-09-2012, 08:13 PM
Hey Head, any way to get my hands on the F2 for ACRE then?

kalelovil
21-09-2012, 01:00 PM
Is there a session planned for today?

Harlander
21-09-2012, 02:06 PM
Argh, it'll conflict with the Planetside 2 session...!

Head
21-09-2012, 02:43 PM
Yea thank wallfydumb for that.

Sadly, i wont be able to host this tonight due to woman

Wafflynumber
21-09-2012, 05:12 PM
wallfydumb

*Wafflydumber

SuperÜ
21-09-2012, 07:09 PM
Since the PS2 servers are down, ACRE!?

Head
22-09-2012, 10:03 AM
Awesome, that we managed to get a session together anyway,was fun.

I really need to curb my ramboing in these session, so sorry.

Halop
22-09-2012, 01:02 PM
That was fun, and confusing as hell at the same time.

Black Mamba
25-09-2012, 11:20 AM
Thanks head.
Just to say that ACRE has been updated yesterday (1.4.9). Do we update or not?

washington
26-09-2012, 03:49 PM
Mods server is now rocking ACRE 1.4.9. Get it here (http://www.armaholic.com/page.php?id=11338) or via six-updater.

Head
26-09-2012, 03:53 PM
Wash got here before me, but yes 1.4.9 is expected, il try to remember to update the threeupdater ACRE to 1.4.9

Head
27-09-2012, 11:56 AM
I've been thinking since Fridays have been will be booked up for me for a quite a while.

Anyone perhaps think we should change to wednesday/thursday ?

Maybe it will increase the player count aswell.

Black Mamba
27-09-2012, 07:23 PM
I was thinking thursday as well. But ain't it DCS night?

Harlander
28-09-2012, 06:50 AM
Don't do Thursday, that's my realside nerd club night.

Head
28-09-2012, 07:04 AM
Oh dear we need more days of the week.

Head
28-09-2012, 04:43 PM
Fyi, i've been cleared for today so session at the 19.30(UK time) as normal.

Also, ThreeUpdaters acre verison is not up to date.

Edit: Typoed the time

Head
04-10-2012, 11:57 PM
Same time tomorrow (19.30 UK)

trumpet
05-10-2012, 07:29 AM
I've been thinking since Fridays have been will be booked up for me for a quite a while.

Anyone perhaps think we should change to wednesday/thursday ?

Maybe it will increase the player count aswell.

Monday please!!

Head
05-10-2012, 10:53 AM
Monday please!!
But mondays are all wack.

A new poll will most likely pop up next week

kalelovil
12-10-2012, 01:42 PM
Any news? Is there a session this evening?

Head
12-10-2012, 03:55 PM
I'm sorry to say, but i have been displaced for this evening, if anyone want to take over this evening then you will have my heartfelt thanks.


I might just make it, but i doubt it.


Sorry everyone.

washington
12-10-2012, 07:12 PM
For those who'll be around in 20min (1930BST), let's play!

Dogface
25-10-2012, 05:30 PM
Hey, is there gonna be a session this Friday? I definitely wanna try out ACRE (and ACE for that matter). I wanna be in ShackTac when I grow up!

kalelovil
26-10-2012, 02:46 PM
Same question as Dogface, is there an ACRE session today? I've been unable to attend the last few but I will be there today.

Are we using ACRE v1.4.10 and Teamspeak 3.0.9.1?

Or if there isn't, would anybody else be interested in an impromptu regular ArmA2 session at the same time?

Macaco
26-10-2012, 04:51 PM
Also curious about tonight. Also do you guys use the shacktac volume control mod? It's a client side AND server side mod so I don't want to run it then crash the server or anything

daf
26-10-2012, 05:04 PM
Could be a impromptu acre session too as long as someone actually knows which missions support it, I'll also try to show up but not sure if I'll be able to make it..

Black Mamba
26-10-2012, 06:57 PM
Nah, we don't use Volume Control.
I might be around, but nothing sure.

Head
26-10-2012, 11:42 PM
Sorry guys, im having hardware problems at the moment.

I'l see to you get this started on another day that isnt friday when i get my hardware back in order..

Head
31-10-2012, 05:28 PM
Anyone feeling up for ACRE tonight?, i don't have any new missions but we could do a few of the oldies and VTS.

SuperÜ
31-10-2012, 07:41 PM
Sounds fun, I will try be there!

kalelovil
31-10-2012, 07:47 PM
I'll try to be there. In 45 minutes?

Head
31-10-2012, 08:46 PM
Had super special family emergency today, so no ACRE.. Sorry!

SuperÜ
31-10-2012, 10:23 PM
No worries, hope all is fine. Maybe next week if we are lucky!

Slappybag
05-11-2012, 01:34 AM
I'd be very interested in this. Being a Brit means I can't be playing with shack tac but I'd love to play with ACE/ACRE etc.

Head
05-11-2012, 01:28 PM
There will most LIKELY be a session this Wednesday at 19:30 UK time, 20:30 Central European Time.

Expect a confirmation on Wednesday, if you got any missions ready for plaaaying, pm me ;)

Slappybag
05-11-2012, 10:55 PM
There will most LIKELY be a session this Wednesday at 19:30 UK time, 20:30 Central European Time.

Expect a confirmation on Wednesday, if you got any missions ready for plaaaying, pm me ;)

Better get my Dissertation finished for Thursdays prior to this then =P

Elesium
05-11-2012, 11:26 PM
I would love to do an ACRE session however got a Rolling Thunder event on Wednesday.

Kefirz
05-11-2012, 11:52 PM
Better get my Dissertation finished for Thursdays prior to this then =P

Get you priorities straight man.. arma2 always comes first :D

Head
06-11-2012, 05:28 PM
Yup, session tomarrow, i hope to see ya there.

Once again, make sure you have the latest ACRE before hand.


Also Threeupdater is still not updated ;C

Black Mamba
06-11-2012, 06:20 PM
Today? Dude, wake up. It's Tuesday.

Head
06-11-2012, 08:01 PM
Last edited by Head (http://www.rockpapershotgun.com/forums/posthistory.php?p=211902); Today at 06:36 PM, i did wake up -.-

Head
07-11-2012, 06:54 PM
And its now finally Wednesday 19.30 UK ( 2030 central euro)

We will use Folk TS3 as normal.



Address: server.herosquad.org
Port: 2402
Password: freedom



Gameserver is SMODSERVER



If you plan to FTL/CO it be nice if you could read trough.

The TG has a really good guide on the communication style,that i'd like to mimic

Here (http://www.tacticalgamer.com/armed-assault/174370-hitchhikers-guide-tg-arma.html#post1612298)
ACRE DOWNLOAD (http://www.armaholic.com/page.php?id=11339)
Filter for ARPS || RPS

Slappybag
09-11-2012, 05:53 PM
I didn't finish my dissertation on time for this =P =(

Elesium
10-11-2012, 09:47 PM
So next wed, is it literally only ACRE being used ? Or you thinking of eventually expanding it to ACE etc?

kalelovil
14-11-2012, 10:01 AM
I unfortunately will not be able to attend this week's session. Hope it goes well and you get more people than last week.

Elesium
14-11-2012, 07:52 PM
This is still on this evening, correct?

Head
14-11-2012, 07:55 PM
Yes, We be on my own teamspeak since the FOLK one isnt updated


So just point your teamspeak to "baystation12.net" default port and everything.

See ya there.

Dannysaysnoo
21-11-2012, 08:42 PM
TS3 has broken, and I can't fix it. I'll miss you guys :<