PDA

View Full Version : How many people here know how to program?

Internet
12-10-2012, 04:13 AM
I have a love/hate relationship with it myself. I've taken Java/C++ classes, passed them just fine, and then a year later forget everything I've learned. I love doing the algorithms, hate implementing them (the actual programming part), swear it off forever and then start fresh a year later. Almost every year. Around October.

Ritashi
12-10-2012, 04:14 AM
Currently developing a game with a small group of devs in Unity, I'm leading our programming group.

Hensler
12-10-2012, 04:33 AM
I'm a programmer. I always thought making games would be my dream job, but it turns out I just really like playing games, so now I make non-game apps and do general IT/help desk stuff. I've considered looking for more of a design role or even level design, but have never really pursued it.

kstress71
12-10-2012, 05:00 AM
I'm currently working on my first indie game in Unity, but it's slow going as I'm working alone and learning as I go. I'm really enjoying it though and hope to make it more than a hobby one day.

For my day job, I primarily do web development.

gwathdring
12-10-2012, 06:22 AM
I've never done gaming stuff, but I'm currently learning Java, C and C++ -- I'm decently comfortable with C++ but I have a fair ways to go with C.

I'm working a number of learning projects including a much smaller scale version of something like OCTGN to implement some of my object oriented work.

Mohorovicic
12-10-2012, 06:42 AM
...what is the point of learning C when you're already learning C++?

Also I'll be first to say - fuck Java

pkt-zer0
12-10-2012, 06:56 AM
I love doing the algorithms, hate implementing them
I don't really get that. What's the difference? Going from pseudocode to actual code is basically nothing.