PDA

View Full Version : Hey, can someone give me a hand with this?

Lehr
22-12-2012, 02:16 AM
Well, I've been using the same rig for more then five years; and as of late it's been a little slower then normal. My Graphics card is also acting up.

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 12/21/2012, 19:59:28
Machine name: LEHR-PC
Operating System: Windows Vista™ Home Premium (6.0, Build 6002) Service Pack 2 (6002.vistasp2_gdr.120824-0336)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Dell Inc.
System Model: Studio XPS 435MT
BIOS: Default System BIOS
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz (8 CPUs), ~2.7GHz
Memory: 6134MB RAM
Page File: 5468MB used, 6995MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 7.00.6002.18107 32bit Unicode

That's my system, I know Vista is bad blah blah, it's nothing totally bad, really. I've only had to replace the PSU once. It turns out the one I was using for five years was rather... Out dated. Regardless; it was 300w. My new one is 650w (Thank the lord.) I plan to replace my GPU around April with an ATI 5770 (Unless someone here can help me find a better card. I'm not savvy in the Computer building department.)

Anyway, the problems right now?

My GPU Over heats in certain games. I.E Garrysmod/l4d2 While it remains cool in some games like Company of heroes. Over heats at times in fallout new vegas and Metro 2033. It's idle temprature in the summer is 70c. In the winter? 60c (Sometimes I open the window and let cool air poor in, it goes down to 40c) and I have a desk fan on it. And yes, it's dust free. So, don't worry about it. Sometimes my FPS goes from 40-60 down to 5 and I lag horribly on certain maps in this 'Garrysmod', yet in any other game I never lag. My hard drive seems to be fine for a five year old hunk of steel, and I have a uh... 683 Gig hard drive, 371 of it remains.

My Anti Virus? Norton.