Page 12 of 20 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast
Results 221 to 240 of 393
  1. #221
    Network Hub Henlaaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    379
    Quote Originally Posted by stoopiduk View Post
    So, I've always pronouned it sigh-no, am I wrong?

    Sino is a prefix I use at work quite a lot for Chinese related things, and I've always understood it to be correct in either form, but for some reason I've always gone sigh-no.
    yeah i made that mistake.. its sin, as in the popular pet shop boys record `its a sin`

    everything I've ever done, everything I'll every do..

  2. #222
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus jaguar skills's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1,628
    I always saw it as an alternative spelling/play on words/whatever of cinematic. Is that right?
    Quote Originally Posted by Kanye West
    I think what Kanye West is going to mean is something similar to what Steve Jobs means. I am undoubtedly, you know, Steve of Internet, downtown, fashion, culture. Period.
    Quote Originally Posted by Kanye West
    I am God's vessel. But my greatest pain in life is that I will never be able to see myself perform live.



  3. #223
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus WallyTrooper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    1,037
    Sin-o-matic... surely that's a machine produced by Acme Inc. that is designed to break the 10 commandments, automatically.
    WallyTrooper = TrooperWally

    Wally is now on Steam!

  4. #224
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,629
    Quote Originally Posted by sinomatic View Post
    You've just reminded me that some of us were going to start a 'how do you pronounce that person's name?' thread.
    I demand we write all names in glorious IPA!!
    Steam Profile - Ser Hoc

  5. #225
    Network Hub Grible's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Edinburgh,Scotland
    Posts
    466
    I always assumed that the lady in question was named after the automated production of sin. But I hear people say Sino as in Chinese all the time in mumble.
    I'm dreadful at people's names tho.

    I now know "Lynche" is not the fruit but the act of killing black people.
    "Avaa" is "A-Va" not "a-Vah!"
    "Arc-Two-Re-AN" not "Archtovan"

    I require guidance on "Tachyona" (sp?) and many others.

    As for bases Tumas is always going to be Tomb-Ass and Wokuk is Wok-U.K.

  6. #226
    Network Hub moms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    in a bar, somewhere.
    Posts
    324
    Quote Originally Posted by sinomatic View Post

    You've just reminded me that some of us were going to start a 'how do you pronounce that person's name?' thread.

    (For the record, like that ^^^)
    Oh, please do!
    And, even then, I will probably manage to mangle and murderize enough of your names to cause an international incident or two (for which, I apologize in advance.)
    "Bring me my purse."

    please visit
    the Game Orphanage

    Finding Good Homes For Unwanted Games Since January, 2014







  7. #227
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus Boris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,573
    Quote Originally Posted by jaguar skills View Post
    I always saw it as an alternative spelling/play on words/whatever of cinematic. Is that right?
    That's right. Sinomatic did a PSA on mumble a while back and I remembered.

  8. #228
    Network Hub moms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    in a bar, somewhere.
    Posts
    324
    *raises hand* Stupid question, here.
    How or where might I find my ping, please?

    I did take a quick look thru the Q&A, and the previous posts, but couldn't seem to find anything.
    Thank you

    Oh.. and alls I know about Sinomatic, is that the accent is on the Sin.
    Last edited by moms; 19-03-2014 at 08:19 PM. Reason: stoned
    "Bring me my purse."

    please visit
    the Game Orphanage

    Finding Good Homes For Unwanted Games Since January, 2014







  9. #229
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,648
    Quote Originally Posted by moms View Post
    *raises hand* Stupid question, here.
    How or where might I my ping, please?

    I did take a quick look thru the Q&A, and the previous posts, but couldn't seem to find anything.
    Thank you
    Hold tab.
    It's to the bottom right of the score window.

  10. #230
    Network Hub moms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    in a bar, somewhere.
    Posts
    324
    Quote Originally Posted by CMaster View Post
    Hold tab.
    It's to the bottom right of the score window.
    Ah, thanks much, CMaster!
    "Bring me my purse."

    please visit
    the Game Orphanage

    Finding Good Homes For Unwanted Games Since January, 2014







  11. #231
    Lesser Hivemind Node sinomatic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    786
    Quote Originally Posted by jaguar skills View Post
    I always saw it as an alternative spelling/play on words/whatever of cinematic. Is that right?
    Quote Originally Posted by WallyTrooper View Post
    Sin-o-matic... surely that's a machine produced by Acme Inc. that is designed to break the 10 commandments, automatically.
    Both of these actually! (Multitasking nomenclature is the future people.) And yes, I get 'Sigh-no' and even 'See-no' quite often from people and it almost always takes me that extra second to realise that they're actually talking to me.

    Also, I never knew that about finding the ping. This thread really is useful

  12. #232
    Network Hub
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    England
    Posts
    358
    So,a couple of silly questions. While playing, my screen goes black and everything freezes for a bit, then when it returns everything is slow and my character handles like a bus. I'm guessing this is lag related but I thought I'd better check.

    Also, is there a genuine in game performance benefit to have my game loaded on my SSD? At the moment it's on my standard HD, just because there's no space left, and i figured an Intel 3570 plus a nVidia 670 with 8 Gb RAM should be sufficient. Thanks in advance!
    Origin guvornator69
    Steam guvornator
    Planetside 2 DavidGan1x - Come admire my terrible KDR

  13. #233
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus Cephas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    1,630
    Quote Originally Posted by Guvornator View Post
    So,a couple of silly questions. While playing, my screen goes black and everything freezes for a bit, then when it returns everything is slow and my character handles like a bus. I'm guessing this is lag related but I thought I'd better check.

    Also, is there a genuine in game performance benefit to have my game loaded on my SSD? At the moment it's on my standard HD, just because there's no space left, and i figured an Intel 3570 plus a nVidia 670 with 8 Gb RAM should be sufficient. Thanks in advance!
    For question 1) what drivers are you using? Are they the latest? The last 2 versions of NVidia drivers have had issues with PS2 so try a roll-back to see if it works.

    Questions 2) From what I've noticed there's not really any game performance other than (much) faster loading of the game itself. This was a much bigger thing when the game used to crash frequently.

  14. #234
    Lesser Hivemind Node stoopiduk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    536
    Guv: 1) I have a GTX770 and as Cephas said the latest drivers introduced this problem a month or so ago. Very frustrating. I've not tried rolling back, but I'm sure there's some kind of a solution on the PS2 reddit.

    The drawback of an SSD is that it took me about half a dozen load screens to read all of the details of next weekend's members' double XP weekend, because it only flashed up for a fraction of a second. As with pretty much any game, the only difference is in the load times. I feel like it gives me the edge on quik redeploys and the like, but that's probably just me justifying the horrific price tag of my rig.

  15. #235
    Network Hub
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    England
    Posts
    358
    Thanks to both of you for the help. I assumed it was lag based purely because it was only happening during the kind of furballs the Giraffes tend to bring - solo jaunts were mainly fine. I don't recall ever deliberately updating my drivers so maybe a dig around in windows update settings is in order. Good to hear that I might be able to sort it out.
    Origin guvornator69
    Steam guvornator
    Planetside 2 DavidGan1x - Come admire my terrible KDR

  16. #236
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus Cephas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    1,630
    Reddit is usually a good source of information when there's a new driver out. You'll see the outcry threads instantly!

  17. #237
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus Berzee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2,242
    Is it possible to be allergic to circles?
    Support for my all-pepperjack-cheese food bank charity drive has been lukewarm at best.

  18. #238
    Network Hub Avaa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    162
    Nvidia Drivers fucked up something for Planetside a while back.
    Everything after 332.21 can break your game, for me it even went as far as hard locking the whole PC.
    So everyone that uses a Nvidia card, try rolling back.
    http://www.nvidia.com/content/Driver...s&type=GeForce

  19. #239
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus Bankrotas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Lithuania
    Posts
    1,669
    Quote Originally Posted by Berzee View Post
    Is it possible to be allergic to circles?
    Psychologically induced allergy maybe.
    Hear from the spirit-world this mystery:
    Creation is summed up, O man, in thee;
    Angel and demon, man and beast art thou,
    Yea, thou art all thou dost appear to be!

  20. #240
    Network Hub
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    England
    Posts
    358
    Quote Originally Posted by Avaa View Post
    Nvidia Drivers fucked up something for Planetside a while back.
    Everything after 332.21 can break your game, for me it even went as far as hard locking the whole PC.
    So here's a wrinkle - my driver version is 311.06 according to nVidia Control Panel. I didn't think I'd updated it...
    Origin guvornator69
    Steam guvornator
    Planetside 2 DavidGan1x - Come admire my terrible KDR

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •