Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 52
  1. #1
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus The JG Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    3,488

    Star Citizen Hangar is out, so let's compare ships!

    ...or we could, if the server wasn't being bogged down by people wanting to look at their shiny ships.

    Anyhow, to access the hangar, just make sure you're logged into the main site then from the Star Citizen drop-down select Hangar Module. It'll run you through the steps to make sure you have everything, then away you can go.

    The installer is 16mb+3gb. The minimum requirements aren't even consistent on their own page, but you'll need a DX11 card and basically a good dual or a quad core processor. It also says 8gb RAM. It's obviously still in alpha and there are numerous bugs too. The buggy for driving around in won't be out for another day or so.
    Powered by Steam. And biscuits. I'm also a twit and dabble in creative writing.

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2,069
    >8GB of RAM to look at models of spaceships

  3. #3
    Moderator QuantaCat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    6,466
    yup, makes sense. it is a part of their engine after all
    - Tom De Roeck.

    verse publications

    "Quantacat's name is still recognised even if he watches on with detached eyes like Peter Molyneux over a cube in 3D space, staring at it with tears in his eyes, softly whispering... Someday they'll get it."

    "It's frankly embarrassing. The mods on here are woeful."

    "I wrinkled my nose at QC being a mod."

    "At least he has some personality."

  4. #4
    Activated Node Case's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    England
    Posts
    50
    I don't understand, you can buy a ship for $225 before the game is even out? Urm...What?

  5. #5
    Lesser Hivemind Node L_No's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    910
    Quote Originally Posted by Mohorovicic View Post
    >8GB of RAM to look at models of spaceships
    No looking at models of spaceships for me then :/

  6. #6
    Moho: Not sure if you're shocked or appalled or just stating a fact. If it's one of the first two then they have very explicitly explained that this is pre pre alpha and not even remotely optimised. As development progresses the minimum requirements will lower and then I will be able to view them too!

    Case: yup! People are spending crazy money to fund this game. This is crowd sourcing though, so they are less buying a ship at insane prices but giving insane amounts to RSI/CIG for development and the ships they get are a thank you/incentive. I mean, they've raised over $16 million so far and it doesn't look like stopping. Some people have spent thousands on this - it's unlikely they're doing that just to get the ships.
    Last edited by SanguineAngel; 30-08-2013 at 09:47 AM.

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2,069
    Quote Originally Posted by SanguineAngel View Post
    Moho: Not sure if you're shocked or appalled or just stating a fact. If it's one of the first two then they have very explicitly explained that this is pre pre alpha and not even remotely optimised.
    I don't think "optimisation" is an excuse when you can easily view detailed 3D models in your browser.

    What does RAM have to do with optimisation anyway? RAM is just for storing data for quick access. You're telling me the hangar and a spaceship in the hangar take more than 4GB of data in model and textures? That's gotta be one detailed ship and hangar.

  8. #8
    Moderator QuantaCat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    6,466
    I fucking hope this game needs 16gb RAM and a monster of a CPU. I want it to look fucking amazing on nothing but the best.
    - Tom De Roeck.

    verse publications

    "Quantacat's name is still recognised even if he watches on with detached eyes like Peter Molyneux over a cube in 3D space, staring at it with tears in his eyes, softly whispering... Someday they'll get it."

    "It's frankly embarrassing. The mods on here are woeful."

    "I wrinkled my nose at QC being a mod."

    "At least he has some personality."

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Mohorovicic View Post
    I don't think "optimisation" is an excuse when you can easily view detailed 3D models in your browser.

    What does RAM have to do with optimisation anyway? RAM is just for storing data for quick access. You're telling me the hangar and a spaceship in the hangar take more than 4GB of data in model and textures? That's gotta be one detailed ship and hangar.
    I don't have the answers for you on that one but the requirements are what they are and the reason is what it is. They forewarned us they would be high and have assured us they will go down in time. This is really a case of something for nothing so I can't really see a reason to complain

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2,069
    Rule #1: There is always a reason to complain!

  11. #11
    Moderator QuantaCat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    6,466
    hmrph. I backed when it was first kickstarted. how do I get my account tied into that, because it keeps asking me to back again.
    - Tom De Roeck.

    verse publications

    "Quantacat's name is still recognised even if he watches on with detached eyes like Peter Molyneux over a cube in 3D space, staring at it with tears in his eyes, softly whispering... Someday they'll get it."

    "It's frankly embarrassing. The mods on here are woeful."

    "I wrinkled my nose at QC being a mod."

    "At least he has some personality."

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by QuantaCat View Post
    hmrph. I backed when it was first kickstarted. how do I get my account tied into that, because it keeps asking me to back again.
    If you backed on kickstarter it should recognise your email from that. Did you register on their previous website? If not you may want to get in touch. I've not had a problem but I have heard that their customer support is aces

  13. #13
    Moderator QuantaCat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    6,466
    where IS their customer support?!

    nm found it
    - Tom De Roeck.

    verse publications

    "Quantacat's name is still recognised even if he watches on with detached eyes like Peter Molyneux over a cube in 3D space, staring at it with tears in his eyes, softly whispering... Someday they'll get it."

    "It's frankly embarrassing. The mods on here are woeful."

    "I wrinkled my nose at QC being a mod."

    "At least he has some personality."

  14. #14
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus The JG Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    3,488
    Quote Originally Posted by Mohorovicic View Post
    >8GB of RAM to look at models of spaceships
    1. Gosh, remember when all you needed for a game was 512mb RAM? It's almost like system requirements increase as time goes on. Obviously the last big mile-stone in PC requirements has been more and more games only running on DX11, but more things will come into play soon. I know for one the Total War series lately has had recommended RAM as 8gb+.

    2. Numerous people on the forums have reported that they've been able to get it running, albeit not amazingly, with 4gb. Others have said it's using "around 2.5gb". The requirements are there at the moment because it's pre-pre-alpha as a means of brute forcing it to work. It's made abundantly clear going through the website, downloading the installer and then on the installer it self that this is very early stuff.

    Quote Originally Posted by Case View Post
    I don't understand, you can buy a ship for $225 before the game is even out? Urm...What?
    It's already been pointed out, but you're not exactly buying a ship for that amount, you're buying into a pledge level where one of the rewards is a specific craft. Once the game releases, you won't strictly speaking be able to buy any ship out-right with real money. The way real money transactions work is that you'll be limited how much in-game currency you can buy a month. Last I read, possibly a rumour, is that the more in-game currency you have, the less you can buy with real-world coin.

    Anyhow, there are numerous issues with getting the installer to download, especially from the UK, but there are a couple of workarounds for that one. Still, I have it downloaded now and am downloading the actual hangar. The installation/download music is very pleasant.
    Powered by Steam. And biscuits. I'm also a twit and dabble in creative writing.

  15. #15
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus Sparkasaurusmex's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,391
    Just went to sign on for this and they want me to come up with three unique monikers! Damn hard game.

  16. #16
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus The JG Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    3,488
    So after trying after trying after trying, I finally got in.

    It looks lovely. Obviously plenty of bugs, animations off etc., but it's great. My main issue though is that being in the super cheap hangar, everything is quite dark so a lot of the details are not so visible. It was also fun to run on top of the wing for my 300i despite it quite clearly saying "Do not step". She's gonna have a rough time when I'm actually flying, that's for sure.

    Some videos for your perusal.
    Constellation in standard hangar
    Aurora in business hangar
    Freelancer in business hangar
    350r, Freelancer, Constellation and 'Cutlass' in deluxe hangar

    Fun with ladders
    Fun with joysticks

    Installer/client music (obviously no video here)
    Powered by Steam. And biscuits. I'm also a twit and dabble in creative writing.

  17. #17
    Network Hub rsherhod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    312
    Quote Originally Posted by QuantaCat View Post
    I fucking hope this game needs 16gb RAM and a monster of a CPU. I want it to look fucking amazing on nothing but the best.
    Personally I fucking hope this game can make good use of 16gb RAM and a monster of a CPU. I want it to look fucking amazing on the best but still look fantastic on machines belonging to poor shmucks with bills to pay.

  18. #18
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus Sparkasaurusmex's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,391
    JG man, The joystick video is pretty short. Looks good though. How are the controls working? Is the whole idea about the pilot's hands moving to press a key when you do implemented?

  19. #19
    Wow just watched those vids, it looks really awesome!
    Is it a MMO from what i remember?
    If it is i'm kinda dissapointed. I think it would have been more interesting as a co-op/single player game with exploration with friends or ai, doing missions and stuff like that.
    It would be so cool to have a battleship with 10 people, a pilot, copilot(who shoots rockets/flares or similar), 3 engineers to maintain the ship and 5 gunners against the ai.
    Last edited by UnderwaterCacty; 30-08-2013 at 10:23 PM.

  20. #20
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    975
    Doesn't the game have a huge single player coop campaign? Or am I confusing it with something else?

    I wish I had the money to have backed this, ah well.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •