Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Risks, rewards, & loot in RPGs (and FPS-RPGs)

So here's the thing:

I've been playing Oblivion for the past couple weeks, and I started playing Deus Ex: Human Revolution today. In both, I find myself seriously torn between two extremes: Playing like a real character, and playing like an RPG player.

I'm pretty sure we all know the RPG player. You walk into a room, and the first thing you do is take everything that is worth anything and isn't nailed down. You go out of your way to find things to kill or places to go for XP. You iterate through every dialogue option to make sure you haven't missed a quest or a reward. You lockpick / hack stuff for XP even if you have the key / code. If you see a door, you're going to open it. Etc.

And then there's the real character. You're only going to enter someone's home if you've got a reason to do so. You'd knock first (if only they'd give you the option), and you certainly wouldn't start taking stuff. You're going to look for the easiest way to achieve your goals. You're not going to get involved in some stranger's problem unless it's brought to your attention and there's a reward (tangible or otherwise). You'll look for the simplest / best solution, i.e. the one with the least problems (XP) to overcome.

And you know what? Even if I try to play the latter, I end up slipping into the former. It just seems like how these things are meant to be played. Everyone likes ammo, right? So why shouldn't I open every single locker in a locker room and double my stash? (Never mind that I end up stealthing the level and not firing a single bullet, getting the "Ghost" bonus too.)