Lesser Hivemind Node

Recommended Headsets

I recently posted on here some issues I was having with sound card drivers causing my computer to bsod whilst playing games. Well, these are still happening. The sound card still works fine with music and watching DVDs/Blu-rays, so I'm not ripping it out of the computer, but I don't want to have to plug my speakers into my onboard sound every time I play a game. So, I decided I will buy a half decent headset I can use instead.

Does anyone have any recommendations? I saw these that look like the kind of thing I would want, but I'm not sure if Speedlink has much of a reputation for sound quality - http://www.amazon.co.uk/Speedlink-SL...=medusa+nx+5.1

I would be looking for this sort of price, although willing to go the other side of £50 if it is for the right thing.

Secondary Hivemind Nexus Faldrath's Avatar
    I'm no expert, but I remember reading more than once that 5.1 headsets are more of a gimmick than anything else. I don't really use microphones, but I've recently bought a Sennheiser HD201 and it's excellent, considering how cheap it is (less bass than I'd like, but other than that the sound is crisp and they're extremely comfortable).

Secondary Hivemind Nexus
    Unless you're spending a FORTUNE (£120+) the 5.1 stuff is a gimmick at best and a software/driver liability at worst (all USB-based headsets basically use some form of 'onboard' soundcard - many will have interference and noise issues as USB signals are not shielded in most PCs either - I've yet to use a pair which didn't humm/buzz/generally piss-me-off)

A simpler solution would be to put a 2x3.5 jack into 1x3,5socket splitter cable into the onboard/soundcard outputs so that they both feed into the same pair of headphones - see eBay or Maplins or wherever, should be pennies...

Obscure Node
    So I bought this pair about six months ago and have thoroughly enjoyed using them...
    http://www.roccat.org/Products/Gamin...CCAT-Kave-5-1/