Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 137
  1. #1
    Network Hub
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    221

    Red Orchestra 2: Heroes of Stalingrad - Thank God for forums

    I used to just buy games without reading forum posts. I haven't done that since Merchants of Brooklyn got released on Steam.

    Anyway, just read this on the RO:HoS forums -
    How do you make UE3 run so poorly? http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=2118663
    Last edited by redox; 14-09-2011 at 03:17 AM.

  2. #2
    Obscure Node S.T.A.L.K.E.R.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    8
    Runs fine for me @ 1920x1200, most settings to High/Ultra. Only problem I am having is with Crossfire which is probably AMD's crappy drivers.

  3. #3
    Network Hub
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    445
    What is that forum post you linked to supposed to show? Seems like a bunch of gamer-teens whining about stuff in that oh-so-constructive way that they do.

  4. #4
    Network Hub
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    221
    Quote Originally Posted by Mistabashi View Post
    What is that forum post you linked to supposed to show? Seems like a bunch of gamer-teens whining about stuff in that oh-so-constructive way that they do.
    That's what I thought at first, but the mood of the thread is similar to other forum posts.

  5. #5
    Activated Node
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    78
    Not much has changed since the beta. Still fun, still super buggy and clunky.

  6. #6
    Network Hub
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    187
    The game is fun but I have 6970crossfire and I'm often getting 20-30 but averaging around 40.... there's no excuse to be running that badly on that kinda setup. I mean Unreal Engine 3 usually runs silky smooth and perfect and yet Red Orchestra 2 seems to have 200pings on most servers and low frame rates.

    Just hoping 11.9s or new profiles will fix the problem for the frame rate because it is a really fun game, just really unplayable atm.

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    936
    Luckily, Tripwire is the kind of company that will patch a game to hell and back post-release, usually adding extra content etc.

  8. #8
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus Wolfenswan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,547
    Thy just need to optimize the game more.

    Its only DX9 for god sake!
    I love internet people.

  9. #9
    Network Hub
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    221
    Quote Originally Posted by TixyLixx View Post
    The game is fun but I have 6970crossfire and I'm often getting 20-30 but averaging around 40.... there's no excuse to be running that badly on that kinda setup. I mean Unreal Engine 3 usually runs silky smooth and perfect and yet Red Orchestra 2 seems to have 200pings on most servers and low frame rates.

    Just hoping 11.9s or new profiles will fix the problem for the frame rate because it is a really fun game, just really unplayable atm.
    Just read through this on the Tripwire forums - Unplayable Release FPS http://forums.tripwireinteractive.co...ad.php?t=63069

  10. #10
    Lesser Hivemind Node agentorange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    608
    They are doing things with the engine that no one else has yet attempted. There are bound to be some issues.

  11. #11
    Network Hub
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    221
    Quote Originally Posted by agentorange View Post
    They are doing things with the engine that no one else has yet attempted. There are bound to be some issues.
    Agreed.
    I'm wondering if they've uploaded an older build? This is what happened with Merchants of Brooklyn. Something similar happened recently with Dead Island too.

  12. #12
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus Unaco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,911
    Quote Originally Posted by agentorange View Post
    They are doing things with the engine that no one else has yet attempted. There are bound to be some issues.
    Should they not then delay release, fix the issues, then release?
    Quote Originally Posted by Hypernetic View Post
    I just have an opinion different to your own. Circle jerking is good for no one, be glad somebody isn't afraid to disagree with women on the internet.
    Quote Originally Posted by Hypernetic View Post
    No, you are literally the cancer that is killing gaming.
    Quote Originally Posted by Serenegoose View Post
    Nobody's ever lost sleep over being called a cracker.

  13. #13
    Network Hub GraveyardJimmy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Cardiff
    Posts
    148
    Quote Originally Posted by redox View Post
    Agreed.
    I'm wondering if they've uploaded an older build? This is what happened with Merchants of Brooklyn. Something similar happened recently with Dead Island too.
    I wouldnt have thought so. They've been releasing builds almost nightly through steam. They probably have the hang of it by now.

  14. #14
    Obscure Node Insanity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Surrey
    Posts
    16
    It's currently Unplayable for me on all settings with my GTX 570, hopefully they sort it out soon as the game is very good when the fps is over 30.

  15. #15
    Obscure Node
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Scarborough
    Posts
    2
    People with terrible PC's whining about how they can't play.

    To the guy above me: I have a GTX 570 and am currently playing it on the highest settings averaging around 60 fps. Make sure your drivers are updated and maybe consider that you are lacking in terms of CPU or RAM.

  16. #16
    Activated Node
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    83
    I haven't tried the full game yet (my internet connection is barely faster than dial up) but apart from the wonky server browser I had very little problems with the beta so it's certainly not broken for everyone.

    And who'd trust anything they read on an internet forum anyway, least of all a gaming one...

  17. #17
    Obscure Node Insanity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Surrey
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by Arca View Post
    People with terrible PC's whining about how they can't play.

    To the guy above me: I have a GTX 570 and am currently playing it on the highest settings averaging around 60 fps. Make sure your drivers are updated and maybe consider that you are lacking in terms of CPU or RAM.
    How nice of you to make ignorant assumptions on my system. I am running the latest drivers and have 6GB of RAM and a 3.2GHz Quad Core processor. There is something wrong with their game and many people with the same graphics card with decent specs are having problems.

    Please go and check the forums before you leap in with your ridiculous accusations, or, better yet, don't post at all.
    It's not the name you're given, it's the name you make.

  18. #18
    Network Hub
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    285
    Some stuff on FPS here.

    http://forums.tripwireinteractive.co...ad.php?t=63374

    Played a good 2 hours on the RPS unoffical server there and loved it! Really enjoyed my time (bar the stupid Deathmatch mode).

  19. #19
    Activated Node
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    75
    I'm playing it just fine with a Athlon x4 @ 3.0, 4 gigs of ram, and an HD 4890. Not exactly a beast rig and I'm running it fine on high. It's a great game so far.

  20. #20
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus Smashbox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    2,106
    Quote Originally Posted by Insanity View Post
    How nice of you to make ignorant assumptions on my system. [...] don't post at all.
    Why the rudeness? Be civil, please.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •