Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Network Hub

Are games bad these days or have I just grown up?

I started playing games with f19 Stealth Fighter in like 87 or 88 and I was like 4 or 5 at the time. I remember from that time all the way up to 2004, that games were constantly innovating and becoming bigger and better. Thanks to the introduction of 3D graphics we saw so many new genres and old genres take a whole new meaning. However come 2005 everything just seemed to have died for me and never recovered, I try not to blame the 360 and really it's not, more of a change of our times but that console really did pack a blow to innovation. It was the first console to come with a proper online service and stopped the PCs advantage right there, suddenly you saw every PC franchise move over to it and you still do today with Syndicate and Xcom. I just have a feeling if it was only PS3 and Wii then we'd still have all the great PC developers and Microsoft has showed they care as much about gaming on Windows as Apple do with Mac, though at least they launched and app store that is good for Mac.

I just find myself these days playing older games and preferring them to many newer games. I look at BF3 today and think it plays worse than BFBC2 and both of them are really just the same as 1942 which we got in 2002. I find myself looking at the 64 player limit and wondering why we're still stuck in like the RTCW era when that amazed us all with 64 player classed based combat. Yet I play today games like CS which are 10 or so years old and just are still far better than most modern FPS where they just tacked on a MP component.