Obscure Node

Any advice? - High end rig

Hi everyone.

This is my first time posting but I'm hoping that people may be able to offer me some advice around putting together my own rig.

Basically I've hammered out a draft specification to start from and want to improve however I can before I commit completely to each other components.

My budget for the machine is around £3k.

My starting point specification (not sense-checked for compatibility yet) it as below:
    • Crucial RealSSD M4 512GB 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s Solid State Hard Drive (CT512M4SSD2)
    • 2 x Gainward GeForce GTX 580 "Phantom" 3072MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card
    • Asus Maximus IV Extreme Intel P67 (Socket 1155) DDR3 Motherboard ** B3 REVISION **
    • Intel Core i7-2700K 3.50GHz (Sandybridge) Socket LGA1155 Processor - OEM
    • Corsair Professional Series AX1200 High Performance 1200W Modular '80 Plus Gold' Power Supply (CMPSU-1200AXUK)
    • Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium - Fatal1ty Champion Series 7.1 Sound Card
    • Seagate Barracuda Green 2TB SATA 6Gb/s Hard Drive
    • Cooler Master CM-690-II Advanced USB3.0 Windowed Gaming Tower Case - Black
    • 2 x Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 PC3-15000C9 1866MHz Dual Channel Kit
    • LG BH10LS38 10x BluRay-RW / 16 x DVD±RW Lightscribe Drive - Black (OEM)

Getting these parts from various suppliers has given me a figure around £2.6k (I got this as a basis from a single supplier where the price was just under £3k).

What do people think of the basic specification? My thoughts are that perhaps the case is inadequate, but what I would like is a reasonably sleak or more reserved looking one.

My general idea with this machine is to give myself the option for up to 3 GFX core and a 4th for PhysX should I decide to go that way.

I intend to invest in a U2711 separately to this budget but initially will be gaming on an iiyama E2607WS.