Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 30
  1. #1
    Network Hub buemba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    185

    PC taking 30+ seconds to boot up

    So I recently built my first pc and it's been working great, except for the fact that when I press the power button the power led lights up immediately, but the pc takes 30 seconds or more to start powering up.

    None of my previous machines did that, and since the pc is hooked by the same cables to the same UPS they were I think I can rule out external factors. So does anybody have any idea what could be causing this?

  2. #2
    Network Hub JohnnyK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    137
    If you need tech help, always post your specs.

    Also, with "boot up", do you mean go through the POST - so it takes 30 seconds until Windows starts loading?

  3. #3
    Network Hub buemba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    185
    Specs:

    Intel i5 2500k
    Asus P8Z68-v Pro
    Radeon 5770
    8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR 3 RAM
    650W Corsair TX power supply
    1TB Western Digital Caviar Black
    Windows 7 Pro
    800W UPS

    And I mean it takes about 30 seconds for POST to start. So between me pressing the power button and the first screen appearing (The one that says "press DEL to run setup") there's a 30 second gap.

  4. #4
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus Rii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Aussieland
    Posts
    1,656
    Do the fans spin up immediately? With the exception of the delay is the power button otherwise reliably responsive in performing its function or do you have to mash at it sometimes? Does it POST immediately if you restart the PC from an operational state?

    You could try procedurally stripping everything out that isn't necessary for the system to POST and seeing if anything changes: video card, RAM, HDD, optical drive, etc.

    You can isolate the power switch itself as a potential problem by bridging the relevant pins on the motherboard manually with a fork tine or something to start the system. I forget the relevant pins but the diagram should be in your motherboard manual.

    ... tried not running it through the UPS?
    Last edited by Rii; 28-01-2012 at 02:56 PM.

  5. #5
    Network Hub
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    259
    What about the BIOS reset pins? I seem to recall (but cannot recall clearly) the computer taking an age to boot when resetting to factory defaults.

  6. #6
    Network Hub buemba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    185
    @Rii

    No, they only start when the POST start. Yep, the button is pretty responsive. The problem only appears in a cold boot if the PC was turned off for a while, but resets or even shutting it down, waiting just a few minutes and then turning it on again work perfectly.

    Thanks for the suggestions, I'll try them later.

    And yeah, I already removed the UPS from the equation and the problem persisted.

    @JimTheDog

    Sorry, but what are the BIOS reset pins?

  7. #7
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus Rii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Aussieland
    Posts
    1,656
    Quote Originally Posted by buemba View Post
    @Rii

    No, they only start when the POST start. Yep, the button is pretty responsive. The problem only appears in a cold boot if the PC was turned off for a while, but resets or even shutting it down, waiting just a few minutes and then turning it on again work perfectly.
    mmm, this sounds like a capacitor issue, either on the motherboard or inside the PSU itself. Do you have access to another PSU that you can plug in to test?

  8. #8
    Network Hub buemba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    185
    Quote Originally Posted by Rii View Post
    mmm, this sounds like a capacitor issue, either on the motherboard or inside the PSU itself. Do you have access to another PSU that you can plug in to test?
    No but this is the same PSU I was using on my previous computer, and that didn't have this problem.

    ...Which would mean a motherboard issue. Oh man...

  9. #9
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus Rii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Aussieland
    Posts
    1,656
    Quote Originally Posted by buemba View Post
    No but this is the same PSU I was using on my previous computer, and that didn't have this problem.

    ...Which would mean a motherboard issue. Oh man...
    Well PSUs can develop problems ... but yeah I'd say you're looking at a return of one or the other component...

  10. #10
    Network Hub buemba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    185
    Quote Originally Posted by Rii View Post
    Well PSUs can develop problems ... but yeah I'd say you're looking at a return of one or the other component...
    I'll see if I can get another PSU to test this.

    Thanks for the help, everybody.

  11. #11
    Could be gfx card too. Try to re-seat it or just running on igp to see whats happens.

  12. #12
    Network Hub
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    155
    You should also re-seat your RAM and/or try installing one stick at a time and see if the problem persists. Typically the CPU and the RAM are the only things that will cause POST to be delayed or not happen at all, but a partially-seated PCI or PCIe card could do it too.
    Quote Originally Posted by vecordae
    While I am as ignorant and irrational as the next man, I am also arrogant enough to assume I possess these qualities in greater abundance than is strictly normal and foolish enough to think that that's worth bragging about.
    Simply a brilliant signature, so I'm stealing it like Steve Jobs and Bill Gates. Yoink!

  13. #13
    Network Hub
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    259
    On the motherboard somewhere there's usually a group of three upright pins with a plastic-covered jumper connecting two - often labelled something like 'JP-1'. Usually you'll need to dig into your motherboard's manual to find the details for where the hell they are.

    If you can't find the actual paper one, a search on your manufacturer's website should do the trick - usually this is detailled in these sorts of manuals under clearing CMOS/BIOS, or resetting the motherboard's password, or something along those lines.

  14. #14
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,176
    In any given thread it seems someone has to bring up either capacitors or overheating as some sort of cure-all explanation doesn't it? :)

    The more logical explanation is that something is either faulty, wrongly configured or has a dodgy connection - and the way forward is to test everything individually (which requires spare parts or another PC or a trip to the PC shop, really).

    Also - a good look through the BIOS to see if there are any options in there for 'quick boot' or 'skip checking' or other stuff which can slow-down a boot isn't a bad idea at this point. Long startups are often a sign of a reset BIOS (bad battery or connection) but 30 seconds is a LONG time - that's usually more like 4-5 seconds.

    I have my doubts that the PSU would cause a slow startup but have no other ill effects - but it's not impossible and it should be tested if you can find a spare/another PC to try it with.

    Otherwise remove everything (except the CPU!) - disconnect all the drives (including their power cables), remove the memory DIMMs and if the mobo has onboard video, connect that and remove your GPU (if not, you need to find a way of testing that GPU and/or another GPU to test).

    What you're looking for is whether the PC takes as long to notice it has no memory/HDDs or whether it's one of those things which is causing the pause. If the pause disappears with stuff disconnected, reconnect 1 item at a time until the problem either recurs (you've found the problem item) or doesn't (whoopee!!)

    If the pause is still obvious with nothing connected (including a diff GPU and PSU) then it's either the board or the CPU and that's obviously a pain in the ass but that's life.

    GL!

    p.s. I guess the mantra is "have a spare everything and test everything individually" :)
    Last edited by trjp; 30-01-2012 at 12:51 PM.

  15. #15
    Network Hub buemba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    185
    Looks like my best bet is taking my PC to a repair shop. More expensive than DIY, but hopefully more reliable as well and it won't require me to strip a friend's machine for parts.

    Thanks guys.

  16. #16
    Activated Node JiminyJickers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    57
    A bit late to the party but have you done any overclocking?

    I recently had a small go at this and my computer did the same thing. It took quite a while just to start booting up. After that nonsense I decided that overclocking was not for me. Computer runs fast enough as it is.

  17. #17
    Lesser Hivemind Node DigitalSignalX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    USA, Missouri.
    Posts
    934
    I remember when PC's took whole minutes to boot up. You kids today, I tell you.
    All times I have enjoyed greatly, have suffered greatly, both with those that loved me, and alone.

  18. #18
    Network Hub buemba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    185
    @JiminyJickers

    Yes, but I already tried returning it to stock speeds and the problem persisted.

    @DigitalSignalX

    True, but back in those days PCs also had bitchin' turbo buttons built in and loud as shit modems that woke everybody in my house with sweet robot noises whenever I tried to connect to the net to look at some porn at night. If my current computer is going to take that long to boot it better have one of those cool features too.

  19. #19
    Network Hub
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    155
    Before you go spending any money, try the simple things first. Unplug all non-essential things (everything but the CPU, RAM, and GPU unless your mobo has an integrated one) and see if you still have the issue. A failing hard drive can cause the POST to take a lot longer, though I'm not sure it would cause boot-up to pause for 30 seconds before POSTing even starts, but it's worth a shot and it's free.
    Quote Originally Posted by vecordae
    While I am as ignorant and irrational as the next man, I am also arrogant enough to assume I possess these qualities in greater abundance than is strictly normal and foolish enough to think that that's worth bragging about.
    Simply a brilliant signature, so I'm stealing it like Steve Jobs and Bill Gates. Yoink!

  20. #20
    Network Hub buemba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    185
    I tried that, but the problem persisted. The only things I couldn't test were the PSU, the motherboard and the processor, since I don't have spare ones lying around, but I think I tried everything else.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •