Banned

Square Enix Talk Deus Ex: Human Revolution

RPS: I don’t think there was any doubt that Looking Glass/Ion Storm had a bias. With the Thief games, and Deus Ex, Spector and his team were biased toward non-lethal routes. Do you have a bias in this game?
    DeMarle: I know that I personally like to play stealth, but that’s because I’m not very good at combat! But I wouldn’t say I have a bias toward it. I tried, at least from a story perspective, to bear in mind that that’s a viable way of playing, and the world needs to reflect that. And the characters need to reflect it.
    Dugas: I don’t think I have a bias either. I like to play stealth, I like to go through those maps, either to take down enemies or not, and have the feeling that none of them realise I was there. It’s a really good feeling – you feel like you’re eavesdropping, you’re the small camera in the corner that sees everything, but no one realises the camera is there. But as we developed it, it was important that all those aspects would be rewarding in their own rights. If you’re the type of player more interested in shooting stuff, then it should be rewarding as well. You shouldn’t feel like, “Oh my God, to enjoy this game I need to do this.”

Funny thing, since that's exactly how... my friend... felt like playing the leaked preview. Shooting someone will yield at most 20XP, while knocking someone out will yeld at least 30XP. Furthermore, you get additional XP bonuses for finishing objectives without raising an alarm and even more XP for crawling into every air duct you see(it's uncanny - if you see an air duct, you can be sure you'll find 100XP inside). Hacking is similar - you get absolutely nothing from using a login and password, while hacking a single PC can yield you up to 250XP, extra money, or hacking software.