Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 32 of 32
  1. #21
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus Hypernetic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    2,155
    Why don't you just call CyberPower since you bought it from them 6 months ago? It's probably still under warranty and if not most of the parts definitely are.

    It really sounds like you have no idea what you are doing and need someone to walk you through various diagnostic steps. Even if one of us could help you, you will still need to call CyberPower anyway to get parts replaced (if it is indeed a hardware issue) so you might as well just call them anyway.

  2. #22
    Lesser Hivemind Node Feldspar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    634
    Quote Originally Posted by johnki View Post

    I do have an SSD, I can see it (I checked when checking where the RAM was and all...and yes, I Googled all this to know what I was looking for...), but it definitely isn't showing up anywhere, and yeah, that's concerning. There's a ehm...Gigabyte Touch Bios thing that loads when the computer starts and loads Windows off it (I couldn't remember the name earlier), and I was told that that's what the SSD is used for. But, at the same time, I was told it was used for some sort of backup/cache that makes loading Windows faster.
    Er, the BIOS loads off the motherboard, Windows should be installed on the SSD, that's what would make it load faster, unless it's some sort of hybrid drive that combines SSD and traditional HDD in one.

  3. #23
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus Heliocentric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    7,968
    Yeah, go with the warranty.

    Ram is the short term memory of the pc, part of it is improperly remembering (probably) this effects loading (files misload) and downloads (what you download might lie on the corrupted area).

    Ram is used for EVERYTHING
    I'm failing to writing a blog, specifically about playing games the wrong way
    http://playingitwrong.wordpress.com/

  4. #24
    Lesser Hivemind Node johnki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    736
    Quote Originally Posted by Feldspar View Post
    Er, the BIOS loads off the motherboard, Windows should be installed on the SSD, that's what would make it load faster, unless it's some sort of hybrid drive that combines SSD and traditional HDD in one.
    I really don't know then. That's what I was told

    @Heliocentric/Hypernetic: I'll see if the warranty isn't expired by now. I can't remember off the top of my head.

    @Heliocentric: I wasn't aware RAM was used for everything. I actually thought it was just used in the running of programs. Which, while technically that may encompass everything, I had thought things like downloads somehow bypassed RAM use.

  5. #25
    Network Hub
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    147
    it amazes me that someone who "dabbles in programming" doesn't show much of an interest in the hardware you would be supposedly "programming".

    Call up Cyberpower and tell them to fix it under sales of goods act. It should last a reasonable amount of time in a good running order, and they must either repair or replace it. Warranty doesnt even come into it.

  6. #26
    Network Hub
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    465
    Quote Originally Posted by Kamikaze-X View Post
    it amazes me that someone who "dabbles in programming" doesn't show much of an interest in the hardware you would be supposedly "programming".

    Call up Cyberpower and tell them to fix it under sales of goods act. It should last a reasonable amount of time in a good running order, and they must either repair or replace it. Warranty doesnt even come into it.
    The Sale of Goods Act only applies to the UK, the poster seems to be in the US. You wouldn't get anywhere with that in the UK anyway if it was outside the warranty period.

    However, new electronics always come with a minimum 12 month warranty even in the US (as far as I know at least), so it really isn't going to be a problem.

  7. #27
    Network Hub
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    147
    Quote Originally Posted by Mistabashi View Post
    The Sale of Goods Act only applies to the UK, the poster seems to be in the US. You wouldn't get anywhere with that in the UK anyway if it was outside the warranty period.
    well, I did with HMV, when my really rather expensive Denon headphones started cracking even being handled with kid gloves. showed them the crack, showed them the numerous reviews or it happening, and they gave me a replacement there and then. It was a good while outside of normal warranty too.

  8. #28
    Network Hub
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    465
    Quote Originally Posted by Kamikaze-X View Post
    well, I did with HMV, when my really rather expensive Denon headphones started cracking even being handled with kid gloves. showed them the crack, showed them the numerous reviews or it happening, and they gave me a replacement there and then. It was a good while outside of normal warranty too.
    If you identify a design flaw it's another matter (although still rather difficult to prove). In practice though, retaillers will often do things like that just to keep customers happy and avoid causing a fuss (particularly the larger ones who's staff don't have a clue about retail law), it doesn't mean they're legally bound to do so.

  9. #29
    Lesser Hivemind Node Bobtree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    524
    It sounds like his SSD is actually installed as a cache. See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Smart_Response_Technology

    This is a reasonable thing to do for someone who wants a high performance system but does not know how to manage one on their own and isn't going to drop big money for a big SSD storage bank.

  10. #30
    Network Hub
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    460
    Before you go tearing your PC apart, I'd entertain the possibility that perhaps it's time to format your hard drive and reinstall the OS. I like to do this about every 6 months as I love to try out software, hack around with things, and generally be a big pest to my poor machine.

    The need to reinstall your OS has decreased significantly since the 90's but it can still help streamline things. Just bear in mind you must back up all your data and perhaps some of your applications themselves since formatting will irreversibly delete the entire contents of your drive (or partition).

    Please ask as many questions as you wish and we'll be glad to walk you through whatever you decide to do. :)

  11. #31
    Lesser Hivemind Node johnki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    736
    Well, I've been out of town so I've been a little slow to actually work on the issue, however decidedly bad of an idea that may be.

    Just today, I finally got around to installing Microsoft Security Essentials (I have used it before, it's free, and it's really not annoying like Norton, Trend Micro [Trend Micro is nice, and has lots of features, but iirc, it took a lot of RAM and was generally pretty intrusive...I may be partially mixing it up with Norton though], etc) and after the Quick Scan, I started a Full Scan, checked back an hour-ish later and the computer had blue screened with a "SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION" error, which is an entirely new problem. Then, I started the computer back up, and after the usual crashing schtick, I started a new Full Scan, to which MSE shut itself off about 10 minutes later, and now I'm in the middle of a third attempt, but this isn't too promising of a sign.

    I have actually had to format my computer before, but the drive isn't even half used up, and in general, the idea doesn't thrill me, even with backups.

  12. #32
    Network Hub
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    147
    Quote Originally Posted by johnki View Post
    Well, I've been out of town so I've been a little slow to actually work on the issue, however decidedly bad of an idea that may be.

    Just today, I finally got around to installing Microsoft Security Essentials (I have used it before, it's free, and it's really not annoying like Norton, Trend Micro [Trend Micro is nice, and has lots of features, but iirc, it took a lot of RAM and was generally pretty intrusive...I may be partially mixing it up with Norton though], etc) and after the Quick Scan, I started a Full Scan, checked back an hour-ish later and the computer had blue screened with a "SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION" error, which is an entirely new problem. Then, I started the computer back up, and after the usual crashing schtick, I started a new Full Scan, to which MSE shut itself off about 10 minutes later, and now I'm in the middle of a third attempt, but this isn't too promising of a sign.

    I have actually had to format my computer before, but the drive isn't even half used up, and in general, the idea doesn't thrill me, even with backups.
    really, just take it back.

    at the worst, this is a motherboard issue with the storage controller, or even a provblem with the on-cpu memory controller being damaged. At best, this is a failing hard disk or SSD, or stick of RAM playing up.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •