Hybrid View

Secondary Hivemind Nexus pakoito's Avatar

RPS meetup at gamescom?

I guess I'm not the only one coming to gamescom. How about some good old German biergarten fun after a day of our favorite past-time? Or maybe some VS games at any of the booths or whatever.

Secondary Hivemind Nexus bonkers's Avatar
    Have been there for several years now, could not go last year, cannot not go this year :(
    Always fun at GamesCom, although it's getting overcrowed. Last year was plainly horrible from what Ive heard. Would have loved to see the Planetside and Firefall booths. Hopefully next year will be possible again.

I wish all attendees a lot of fun :)

It's my first time. Any suggestions?

Obscure Node
    Quote Originally Posted by pakoito View Post
    It's my first time. Any suggestions?
    • Bring a chair. I felt like such a genius having done that last year.
    • Bring food and water. I remember half a pizza costing €6 or so, it's rather expensive. I usually go to the bakery in the morning prior to entering the gamescom.
    • Preferably come Thursday or Friday, it's most crowded at the weekend. I'll simply be there every day, although not before noon on Thursday.
    • Preorder your ticket(s), it's cheaper and they might be sold out at the premises.
    • You need a wristband for age verification - you can either wait in line outside for some 15 minutes, which is okay if you're early enough, or (I think) you can just get one inside as well, without the waiting.
    • Plan ahead. Make a list of things you want to see, check where they are, be aware that popular things (esp. Blizzard) come with long waits - over 4h at times. Smaller games, on the other hand, may have shorter queues - for example I just found out Hotline Miami will be shown (don't know where though - possibly at Devolver Digital?*), I doubt you'd have to wait for hours there.