If teams are not clearly one sided I, personally, wouldn't worry too much about them being identical.So it's for the challenger to decide if teams are fairly even. We are all sensible people here so I don't envision a problem :)
BigBobr99 has challenged CherryPhosphate in game 628148
BigBobr99 has challenged Sunjumper in game 628151
Last edited by BigBobr99; 04-11-2012 at 08:43 AM.
[CherryPhosphater] has defeated [landybrandy] in game 
[cimethink] has defeated [landybrandy] in game 
bad day :(
gotem has challenged Sunjumper in game 628352
gotem has challenged CherryPhosphate in game 628353
gotem has challenged rodeoclown in game 628354
gotem has challenged cimethink in game 628356
gotem has challenged parpel in game 628357
I am trying to play the matches I was challenged to but somehow the Grand Server is not talking to me.
I'll keep on it though.
BigBobr99 has challenged DeVadder in game 628387
column A on the data spraedsheet. I'm sure DeVadder won't mind one fewer challenge to issue, but you're just making extra work for yourself! But as long as your opponent doesn't mind I'll allow it!
[CherryPhosphate] has challenged [rodeoclown] game 628534
[CherryPhosphate] has challenged [cimethink] game 628539
[CherryPhosphate] has challenged [parpel] game 628541
However I ran into a problem when I challenged parpel. I had just been using default Dark Disputed challenges (advanced just feels a bit like cheating to me, as a seasoned Crawl player I prefer truly random) but with parpel it generated a 3 vs 3. As a result I haven't taken my first turn on that yet; parpel please send me a turn if you want to continue, or challenge me back with a 4 vs 4; however you prefer.
[CherryPhosphate] challenged [DeVadder] game 628543
[CherryPhosphate] challenged [ColofNature] game 628547
Right. Just about to get stuck into this "disputed" mode all the kids are talking about.
Not really given disputed much of a shake, so can I prevail upon one of you folks to answer a couple of silly questions? (I did try to JFGI it first, I promise)...
- Can a unit carry more than one box?
- Do boxes carried by units who have not escaped or been killed by the end of the match count for anything?
Thanks! See you on the battlefield! (...or it's really more of an office interior, I suppose. See you in the battleoffice!)
bonuswavepilot has challenged Maetco in game 628631.
bonuswavepilot has challenged landybrandy in game 628633 or 628635. (See below)
bonuswavepilot has challenged gotem in game 628637. (See below)
bonuswavepilot has challenged Sunjumper in game 628636.
bonuswavepilot has challenged CherryPhosphate in game 628639.
OK - I managed to bugger this up a bit - @gotem, the first game I made I seemed to put your shotgunner inside a wall, so that he couldn't move. Please ignore game 628634. @landybrandy - sorry, after I got gotem's game wrong, I remade our match instead of his... As a result you will have got two challenges from me - I have made my move in both, pick whichever you better like the look of I s'pose.
Last edited by bonuswavepilot; 06-11-2012 at 09:26 AM. Reason: Spelling fail.
I can't find any mention of whether a unit can collect more than one box, although I think I've collected two with the same guy before - maybe someone who's played more Disputed than I have knows for sure. (edit: ah, I see CherryPhosphate has confirmed this while I was faffing around. Excellent.)
Regarding boxes carried at the end of the match (from the wiki):
Not sure about that last bit. Seems a bit odd to me.When one side's units are all dead or extracted, the game ends and any boxes remaining on the field are awarded to the remaining player. Think carefully before extracting your last unit!
The stated rules are unclear about what happens if the turn limit is reached while both teams still have units on the field. Boxes remaining uncollected are not awarded to either player. Boxes that have been picked up are counted, apparently even if the unit that picked them up was subsequently killed (see game 273759 on UK1; note that this was a custom Dark Disputed match with only 5 turns).
Also, for reasons known only to Horace it seems that Maetco is unable to post in the forum so he has PM'd me his challenges:Maetco has challenged landybrandy in 628462
Maetco has challenged gotem in 628465
Maetco has challenged Sunjumper in 628620
Maetco has challenged CherryPhosphate in 628622
Maetco has challenged rodeoclown in 628624
That game didn't run out of turns though. Mind you, having watched the match quoted in the wiki the guy that collected the box wasn't killed until just after the end of the final turn. So at the end of the match any boxes you've picked up but not escaped with count towards your total, but I'm guessing that you won't get points from dead guys. Probably.