Obscure Node

Computer not able to boot up.

While using my computer, the power in my room went out (I do have surge protectors). Most likely because of hurricane Sandy. Shortly after, the power can back on, and I attempted to boot up my computer. The PC turns on (power), it shows me the motherboard screen (from where I can enter my Bios), then asks my if I want to resume normal boot up or launch repairs. I click on boot up normally, it thinks a little, shows me the Windows logo, and then immediately restarts. Every time.
    I tried repairs, but it says that it can not find a solution (like always lol). I then tried system restore, but that failed too to my surprise, giving me "rstrui.exe - application error". This leads me to believe that my HDD failed, but then again, what do I know lol. I tried the clear CMOS thing, but that failed too. Any Ideas guys? I have limited knowledge of these things, so bear with me here.

Thank you. (New to Rock, Paper, Shotgun so hello everyone)

Edit:
    Tested the hard drive on another computer and it seems to be working fine. Computer still not booting up however.

I had a similar problem last year. Somewhat unwisely (considering I know very little and was a bit drunk) I self-diagnosed the Master Boot Record as being damaged and used a command prompt to fix it. I'm sorry but I can't remember how I got to the diagnosis (purely google-based) or even the steps I took to bring up the command prompt, but it sorted the problem out.

Secondary Hivemind Nexus squirrel's Avatar
    My experience is that a temporary disconnection from power source may trigger some problems if, say, ram's connection is corrupted. My solution is to unplug then replug the rams again.

Secondary Hivemind Nexus Sparkasaurusmex's Avatar
    Reseating RAM might help, yeah.
    Make sure your BIOS clock isn't way off, that can cause problems. Also make sure your bios didn't default to RAID or something you don't have set up. That would cause exactly this.