Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus bonkers's Avatar

Watch your language! So I thought...

John Smedly (President of SOE) has been a very "open" and "outspoken" man in the past. Today Mr. Smedley (President of SOE) went to talk about cheaters on his Twitter, going on to call them "dumbasses" and "scumbags" and that SOE "will find them and their family".

I have been a gamer and an administrator at esports ladders for years as well and I know the troubles these people cause. But is this really the way a president of company should talk? I am really getting more and more concerns giving more money to the company the more the man talks and writes.
    It's not that I think that he isn't right. He surely is. But would you trust anyone that talks this way? For me it's just unprofessional. Those are these kind of people who wouldn't get hired if they would post such things on their public Facebook wall. Maybe that changes once you are high enough in the food chain. Maybe that's how they do business talk in the US. Maybe. For me it's just... strange, to put it politely.

Am I the only one that this is rubbing the wrong way?

*edit*
    http://www.escapistmagazine.com/news...side-2-Hackers
    (for those who want to compiled source)

*edit2*
    As it seems he had a follow up to the "family tweet" reading:
    "maybe I've been watching the trailer for Zero Dark Thirty too much. seriously we're on this"
    "Just to a make sure people know I was joking - we aren't hunting down hacker's families. Someone thought I was being too aggressive."
    For me that sounds like the easy way out. Is it still a joke if you have to tell people to laugh?
    And even if, I still do think that man should watch his tongue. He's the fucking president of a fucking company...
    Last edited by bonkers; 05-12-2012 at 11:09 PM.

Secondary Hivemind Nexus RIDEBIRD's Avatar