Results 1 to 11 of 11

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Activated Node Oathbreaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Alexandria, VA
    Posts
    31

    WH40K Chaos Gate - anyone able to install the patches?

    Hi. I'm slightly tipsy.

    I'm also a big fan of Chaos Gate. Google the game + "parl2001" and you'll see why. I'm that guy.

    I'm now on a Win 8 laptop at last (5-6years of iMacland, shudder), and got the game going again. But can't seem to get the patches to install.

    Help?

    http://www.reocities.com/TimesSquare...7/cgpatch.html

    http://www.computergamers.com/patches/c.htm



    WTF is this? X-Com meets GRIMDARK. Warhammer, man. THE Warhammer. Games mother******* Workshop, bro. Yeah, dude. http://1d4chan.org/wiki/Special:Random

  2. #2
    Activated Node Oathbreaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Alexandria, VA
    Posts
    31
    Ok, fine. I'm guessing not many people here know or care. So here's some education, as interesting and fun as I can make it:

    Where? http://1d4chan.org/wiki/Warhammer_40k

    What? X-Com, but grim and dark in the far grimdark future. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warhamm...00:_Chaos_Gate

    MobyGames info: http://www.mobygames.com/game/warham...000-chaos-gate

  3. #3
    I can't get it to work under Win 7, it worked fine on Vista though.

  4. #4
    Activated Node Oathbreaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Alexandria, VA
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by palindrome View Post
    I can't get it to work under Win 7, it worked fine on Vista though.

    Did you manage to get the patches installed? If you google around a bit, there should be some tricks to getting it going on Win 7.

    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...e-6a9f852a9095

    http://www.gog.com/forum/general/chaos_gate

  5. #5
    The patches installed fine (or at least I didn't get any error messages).

    I still can't get it to work though.

  6. #6
    Activated Node Oathbreaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Alexandria, VA
    Posts
    31
    Which compatibility mode are you using?

  7. #7
    XP, service pack 2. It actually runs but the graphics are horribly mangled and none of the compatibility settings seem to make any difference.

  8. #8
    Would it not be better to run it in simulated win 95/98 ? Virtualpc and so on.
    Great Search Engine for Game bargains:
    http://isthereanydeal.com/?by=price:asc

  9. #9
    Activated Node Oathbreaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Alexandria, VA
    Posts
    31
    Windows 8 here, I ran it in Comp mode and the graphics were just fine, but the cursor movement and slight choppiness really really turned me off. I'm waiting to find a way to install the patches before I try again.

  10. #10
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus pakoito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Spainishtan
    Posts
    1,850
    Virtual machine (VMWare Player) with Windows 98 SE ISO. It's killing spiders with cannons but hey! it works.

  11. #11
    Activated Node Oathbreaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Alexandria, VA
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by pakoito View Post
    Virtual machine (VMWare Player) with Windows 98 SE ISO. It's killing spiders with cannons but hey! it works.
    Why thank you! As soon as I get my crap broken Asus back from re-re-repaired I'll give it a whirl.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •