The best PC games ever The best PC games of 2018 so far Best graphics cards 2018 Best free games Rainbow Six Siege operators guide Monster Hunter: World guide

86

For The Glory: EU IV Contains CK II Save Game Converter

Paradox have sounded the news bugle to announce that Crusader Kings II, the game that has continued to expand and consume my days throughout 2013, is refusing to abdicate its crown. A polite ruler would step aside to make room for the next in line to the throne, but CK II has never been polite. It’s a devious, murderous omnicidal lord and it will never die. Today’s grand strategy news is this – Europa Universalis IV will couple with Crusader Kings II via a save-game converter.

Fans of Crusader Kings II will be able to maintain the empires they have established and guide them through the age of exploration in an all-new strategic experience, continuing their personal stories of expansion and conquest.

There’s a very good chance I won’t be playing anything else ever.

The one possible flaw in this glorious news-diamond is contained in the following lines:

Players who pre-order Europa Universalis IV will be given a free copy of critically acclaimed strategy/RPG Crusader Kings II, Paradox’s hit title of diplomacy, dynasties, and double-dealing set in the Middle Ages, to add to their own library or to give to a friend. Early adopters will also receive a new Saved Game Converter for Crusader Kings II, which will read the details of a saved game from a Crusader Kings II and convert that into a game that can be played in Europa Universalis IV.

A free copy of Crusader Kings II is a fine thing to bestow upon somebody you love. But what of those who don’t pre-order? Will they be denied access to the converter for the rest of their days? Not a chance. I’m seeking clarification as to what form the tool will be available in post-release. In the meantime, I’m not going to say that it’s wise to pre-order EU IV, but I have spent a great deal of time with various pre-release versions and reckon it’s already the best in the series. More on that soon.

Paradox are demonstrating the feature on Twitch.tv this evening at 11am PDT (6pm GMT, 7pm BST, 8pm CEST).

Tagged with , , , .

If you click our links to online stores and make a purchase we may receive a few pennies. Find more information here.

Who am I?

Adam Smith

former Deputy Editor

More by me

Support RPS and get an ad-free site, extra articles, and free stuff! Tell me more
Please enable Javascript to view comments.

Comments are now closed. Go have a lie down, Internet.

Advertisement

Latest videos