Page 17 of 23 FirstFirst ... 71516171819 ... LastLast
Results 321 to 340 of 453
  1. #321
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus Lethe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,067
    You're right -- Adblock fixes things. Thanks for that!

  2. #322
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus Tikey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    3,575
    I dreamed that I reported spam.
    Just needed to share that.

  3. #323
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1,852
    Can someone please clean up the last page of the Kickstarter Katchup thread? Chrome is freaking out because it thinks some emoticons have malware attached. Sorry if this is the wrong place, thanks.

  4. #324
    Lesser Hivemind Node cardinaldirection's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    now
    Posts
    544
    I'll be your best friend if we can get a better color for links - the dark red is just too difficult to distinguish from normal black text.

    Plz?

  5. #325
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus Berzee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2,307
    Quote Originally Posted by cardinaldirection View Post
    I'll be your best friend if we can get a better color for links - the dark red is just too difficult to distinguish from normal black text.

    Plz?
    I heartily agree. I've been manually underlining them and/or turning them blue in my posts for years now.
    The Secret of Gargoyle Manor, a browser point-and-click adventure about retrieving your lost hat whatever the cost, is something you could play!

  6. #326
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus somini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    NEuro Troika Franchulate #3
    Posts
    6,130
    Quote Originally Posted by cardinaldirection View Post
    I'll be your best friend if we can get a better color for links - the dark red is just too difficult to distinguish from normal black text.

    Plz?
    If you use Firefox, install Stylish and create this userstyle:
    Code:
    @namespace url(http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml);
    
    @-moz-document url-prefix("http://www.rockpapershotgun.com/forums/") {
        body a {
            color: blue !important;
        }
    }
    You can change the color to anything you want.
    If you don't use Firefox(you should), just find a way to convert this CSS for your browser.

    Or you can just nag me to update my Rock Paper Terminal style to work on the forums. I'm a little busy lately, it will be released when it's ready.
    Steam(shots), Imgur, Flickr, Bak'laag, why do you forsake me?
    Quote Originally Posted by Wenz View Post
    Bin the .exes to get it high.

  7. #327
    Lesser Hivemind Node cardinaldirection's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    now
    Posts
    544
    yeah atm im just using browser (pale moon) options custom "fonts & colors", and unchecking "allow pages to choose their own colors" when on rps.
    thanks for introducing me to stylish though.
    Last edited by cardinaldirection; 14-03-2014 at 06:30 AM.

  8. #328
    Vector Jams O'Donnell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Bank of Larks
    Posts
    1,130
    Underscore added to links in forum posts -- that should help.

  9. #329
    Moderator alms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    10,756
    :-O I'm shocked!

    does that mean we can finally get a PM inbox expansion too?
    The Onward March of Bundles - filling your backlog since 1911. For a list of active deals, and more, click here.
    Stalk my Steam profile, or follow my fight against the backlog on HowLongToBeat.

    "You wouldn't download a mouse" (Stellar Duck)

  10. #330
    Lesser Hivemind Node cardinaldirection's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    now
    Posts
    544
    Quote Originally Posted by Jams O'Donnell View Post
    Underscore added to links in forum posts -- that should help.
    woot! thank you =]

  11. #331
    Moderator Squiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Arcadia
    Posts
    5,968
    I think this has been reported before but as far as I know there was no official response to the issue. The edit post function is acting weird. Every now and then, you'll just get a blank text box when you try to edit one of your posts, preventing any kind of edits. Especially annoying if you've written a long list or a guide. It also appears as if these posts are then "tagged" with this bug, meaning that it persists even in later sessions (i.e. after browser or even machine restart).

    Happened to me on firefox 28.0 and also earlier versions I believe.

  12. #332
    Moderator Squiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Arcadia
    Posts
    5,968
    Any update on this? The issue still persists and it is really annoying. Any feedback would be appreciated.

  13. #333
    Vector Jams O'Donnell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Bank of Larks
    Posts
    1,130
    Quote Originally Posted by Squiz View Post
    Any update on this? The issue still persists and it is really annoying. Any feedback would be appreciated.
    I've never had it happen to me -- can you recreate it reliably, & if so could you send me some instructions on how to do it?

  14. #334
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus The JG Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4,513
    From my experience of that happening to me, it just sort of...happens, randomly. I'll see if I can note down what happens if/when it happens again to try and help.
    Powered by Steam. And biscuits. I'm also a twit and dabble in creative writing.

  15. #335
    Moderator Squiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Arcadia
    Posts
    5,968
    I usually get it when I try to edit a post more than once, independent of session. Sometimes it even occurs shortly after succesfully editing once (that is, the second edit fails). If I note any further regularities, I'll post them here. Thanks for looking into this!

  16. #336
    Moderator Squiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Arcadia
    Posts
    5,968
    Just as some more data points, here are two additional cases of the edit function bugging out. Still no idea what is causing it.

    Edit (phew, it worked this time): I've just tried to edit one of my posts of which I know that it has been affected by the bug in the past, on a different machine than the one I've created the post on, after over a month of the bug happening for the first time. The blank edit box still persists.
    Last edited by Squiz; 09-05-2014 at 04:49 PM.

  17. #337
    Moderator alms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    10,756
    I ran into a similar problem with post #1 of the onward march: it was caused by the inclusion of non-english characters, think french accented letters and stuff like that.

    My kludgy fix was to copy the text of the post, then press edit and paste the post; edit and make sure to remove the offending characters. The only side effect is the introduction of foreign formatting, which in my case, I had to get rid of manually.
    The Onward March of Bundles - filling your backlog since 1911. For a list of active deals, and more, click here.
    Stalk my Steam profile, or follow my fight against the backlog on HowLongToBeat.

    "You wouldn't download a mouse" (Stellar Duck)

  18. #338
    Moderator Squiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Arcadia
    Posts
    5,968
    In my opinion, that's as brilliant as it gets with wonky workarounds. Also, this might be a first clue to what is causing the issue. Thanks Alms!

  19. #339
    Secondary Hivemind Nexus icupnimpn2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,132
    Quote Originally Posted by alms View Post
    My kludgy fix was to copy the text of the post, then press edit and paste the post; edit and make sure to remove the offending characters. The only side effect is the introduction of foreign formatting, which in my case, I had to get rid of manually.
    It's happened to me enough when trying to edit just any old post where I might have made a spelling or grammar mistake. Often on my cell phone, so I thought the problem might have been with the mobile browser. Guess that's not the case, and glad I'm not alone.

    I second the copy/paste method as a work-around, but it still suxx0rz3Z.

  20. #340
    Moderator alms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    10,756
    Well, imagine my face when the thought of my miles long post suddenly vanishing into thin air started to make its way into my head...
    The Onward March of Bundles - filling your backlog since 1911. For a list of active deals, and more, click here.
    Stalk my Steam profile, or follow my fight against the backlog on HowLongToBeat.

    "You wouldn't download a mouse" (Stellar Duck)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •