Save 35% on a Rock Paper Shotgun yearly subscription this Black Friday!

If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Minecraft mobs list: all hostile, neutral, passive, and tameable mobs in Minecraft

Here's the full list of Minecraft mobs, including all the new 1.17 mobs

Need to know about a certain Minecraft mob? How about all of them? There's an astonishing number of mobs in Minecraft as of 1.17, and it's best to know as much about them as possible to make sure you can deal with each one appropriately. There are plenty of friendly mobs, but you really should know which ones might try to kill you at first glance.

Below is the full list of Minecraft mobs and animals, from the humble Chicken to legendary monsters such as the Ender Dragon, and even upcoming mobs such as Frogs, Allays, and the Warden, which are all due in Minecraft 1.19.

Minecraft mobs list

Minecraft has come a long way since it first began life in the early 2010s. Now there's a grand total of 73 mobs in Minecraft (soon to be 74 with the Minecraft 1.18 update!), and each mob looks and behaves very differently from the rest. Below I've listed every single mob in the game, categorised based on whether they are passive, neutral, or hostile towards the player.

A Minecraft screenshot of many dozens of Axolotl of different colours crawling towards the camera.

Minecraft passive mobs

Passive mobs are mobs that will never attack the player, even if the player attacks them first. Most of these mobs are harmless animals that will flee if attacked, or even approached in some cases. Below is a list of all Passive mobs, followed by lists of all breedable, tameable, and rideable passive mobs.

  • Axolotl
  • Bat
  • Cat
  • Chicken
  • Cod
  • Cow
  • Donkey
  • Fox
  • Glow Squid
  • Horse
  • Mooshroom
  • Mule
  • Ocelot
  • Parrot
  • Pig
  • Piglin (baby)
  • Polar Bear (baby)
  • Pufferfish
  • Rabbit
  • Salmon
  • Sheep
  • Skeleton Horse
  • Snow Golem
  • Squid
  • Strider
  • Tropical Fish
  • Turtle
  • Villager
  • Wandering Trader
  • Frog (upcoming mob, arriving with Minecraft 1.19 update)
  • Allay (upcoming mob, arriving with Minecraft 1.19 update)

Breedable mobs

  • Axolotl
  • Cat
  • Chicken
  • Cow
  • Donkey
  • Fox
  • Horse
  • Mooshroom
  • Ocelot
  • Pig
  • Rabbit
  • Sheep
  • Skeleton Horse
  • Strider
  • Turtle
  • Villager
  • Mule - can be bred from horse and donkey, but cannot itself breed

Tameable mobs

Rideable mobs

  • Donkey
  • Horse
  • Pig
  • Mule
  • Skeleton Horse
  • Strider
A Minecraft screenshot of three Goats at varying distances from the player.

Minecraft neutral mobs

Neutral mobs can switch between hostile or passive towards the player depending on the situation. Below I've also listed next to each mob how they are provoked into becoming hostile.

  • Bee - provoked if attacked or beehive broken, attacks only once
  • Cave Spider - hostile if in low light level
  • Dolphin - provoked if attacked
  • Enderman - provoked if attacked or looked at
  • Goat - randomly charges nearby players
  • Iron Golem - provoked if nearby villager is attacked
  • Llama - provoked if attacked, attacks only once
  • Piglin (adult) - provoked by any player not wearing 1+ Golden Armor pieces
  • Panda - provoked if attacked, attacks only once
  • Polar Bear (adult) - provoked if attacked or if near a cub
  • Spider - hostile if in low light level
  • Wolf - provoked if attacked
  • Zombified Piglin - provoked if attacked
A nighttime Minecraft screenshot of a zombie looking at the player, with several more zombies wandering around in the background.

Minecraft hostile mobs

Hostile mobs will always attack nearby players if they can. There's just no reasoning with these ones.

  • Blaze
  • Chicken Jockey
  • Creeper
  • Drowned
  • Elder Guardian
  • Endermite
  • Evoker
  • Ghast
  • Guardian
  • Hoglin
  • Husk
  • Magma Cube
  • Phantom
  • Piglin Brute
  • Pillager
  • Ravager
  • Ravager Jockey
  • Shulker
  • Silverfish
  • Skeleton
  • Skeleton Horseman
  • Slime
  • Spider Jockey
  • Stray
  • Vex
  • Vindicator
  • Witch
  • Wither Skeleton
  • Zoglin
  • Zombie
  • Zombie Villager
  • Warden (upcoming mob, arriving with Minecraft 1.19 update)
A Minecraft screenshot of a Wither hovering in front of the player.

Minecraft boss mobs

There are currently two "boss mobs" in Minecraft. These are powerful mobs which have their own health bars, and they are currently the most dangerous enemies in Minecraft - except, of course, the players you'll encounter on PvP Minecraft servers.

Whether you're facing terrifying monsters like Endermen and Guardians, or simply hostile animals such as Polar Bears, you'll have to be prepared to defend yourself against Minecraft many mobs. Clad yourself in the best equipment possible with our guides on finding Diamonds and Netherite, or consult our page on brewing potions to give yourself powerful buffs while in combat. And if you're looking to add even more mobs to your latest Minecraft world, check out our list of Minecraft mods, or change the look of existing mods by installing the best Minecraft texture packs.

Tagged With

About the Author

Ollie Toms avatar

Ollie Toms

Guides Editor

Ollie is known round these parts for having just about the deepest voice in existence. Some say he used to be pretty darn good at Rocket League, but he has since sacrificed that accolade in order to become passably decent at Apex Legends. His favourite pastimes include playing piano covers of his favourite game soundtracks, and burying his face in the warm fur of his two cats.

Support Rock Paper Shotgun

Subscribe and get access to supporter-only articles, an ad-free reading experience, free gifts, and game discounts. Your support helps us create more great writing about PC games.

See more information

More Guides

Latest Articles

Rock Paper Shotgun logo

We've been talking, and we think that you should wear clothes

Total coincidence, but we sell some clothes

Rock Paper Shotgun Merch