If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Overwatch 2 release time: When does Overwatch 2 release?

When does Overwatch 2 release on each platform?

What time does Overwatch 2 release? It's been a long and often confusing journey up to this point, but at last the time has arrived. Yesterday Overwatch 1's servers were shut down for good, and later today its replacement, Overwatch 2, will launch in Early Access.

If you're one of the thousands of players waiting to see the fruits of Blizzard's labour over the past several years, then check below to see the exact Overwatch 2 release time for your region, along with when you can start preloading the game, and what to expect when you finally start playing.

Overwatch 2 is not a sequel, in the traditional sense, but we still think it's really good.

Overwatch 2 release time

Overwatch 2 will release on both PC and console today, on Tuesday 4th October. Here's the exact time that Overwatch 2 will release depending on your region:

  • UK: 8pm BST
  • Europe: 9pm CEST
  • US East: 3pm EDT
  • US West: 12pm PDT
  • Santos: 4pm BRT
  • Seoul:4am KST (5th Oct)
  • Sydney:6am AEDT (5th Oct)

Of course it may be that delays occur, as is often the case with the launch of such a large and eagerly awaited multiplayer game. So take the above times with a grain of salt but know that these are the times that Blizzard is aiming to unleash Overwatch 2 upon the world.

Kiriko, a hero in Overwatch 2, throws a kunai towards the camera in an alleyway.

If you've never played Overwatch 1, then only certain heroes will be unlocked to you when Overwatch 2 does release. The rest of the heroes roster will be locked behind the Battle Pass, meaning you'll need to play up to 100 matches in order to unlock every hero. Returning players, however, will have the entire roster already available to them.

Overwatch 2 preload times and download size

You can start preloading Overwatch 2 three hours before its release in your region, so that the game is readily installed for when the servers are made live. Here are the exact times when you can start to preload Overwatch 2:

  • UK: 5pm BST
  • Europe: 6pm CEST
  • US East: 12pm EDT
  • US West: 9am PDT
  • Santos: 1pm BRT
  • Seoul:1am KST (5th Oct)
  • Sydney:3am AEDT (5th Oct)

The Overwatch 2 download size will be 50 GB for PC players, and 30 GB for console players. This is markedly more than the 20 GB that Overwatch took up before its servers were shut down forever on Monday.

With Overwatch 2, expect a handful of new maps and heroes, reworks to a few existing heroes, minor changes to almost every other character, and the all-important transition to 5v5 instead of 6v6 matches. All this will arrive alongside the new free to play Battle Pass model for Overwatch 2.

Tagged With
About the Author
Ollie Toms avatar

Ollie Toms

Guides Editor

Ollie is known round these parts for having just about the deepest voice in existence. Some say he used to be pretty darn good at Rocket League, but he has since sacrificed that accolade in order to become passably decent at Apex Legends. His favourite pastimes include playing piano covers of his favourite game soundtracks, and burying his face in the warm fur of his two cats.

Support Rock Paper Shotgun and get your first month for £1

Get your first month for £1 (normally £3.99) when you buy a Standard Rock Paper Shotgun subscription. Enjoy ad-free browsing, our monthly letter from the editor, and discounts on RPS merch. Your support helps us create more great writing about PC games.

See more information
Comments
Rock Paper Shotgun logo

We've been talking, and we think that you should wear clothes

Total coincidence, but we sell some clothes

Buy RPS stuff here
Rock Paper Shotgun Merch