If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Turbo Golf Racing's open beta will take a swing from tomorrow

Car for the course

What's with all the golf, Alice B asked recently, much as I did when I turned 13 and suddenly all my friends took up the pastime. I had no answer then and I have no answer now, but Turbo Golf Racing is the most interesting of the recent crop of wacky walk-spoilers. It's golf with cars, or Rocket League with golf, and it's launching a cross-platform beta tomorrow.

Cover image for YouTube videoTurbo Golf Racing Announcement Trailer Official

The Turbo Golf Racing beta will run from Thursday, April 28th at 2am PDT/10am BST/11am CEST until Monday, May 2nd at 4am PDT/12pm BST/1pm CEST. Players who want to join can request access via Steam now, and it sounds like it will be available to everyone who signs up.

The beta will contain 12 playable courses, online multiplayer for up to eight players, a singleplayer time trial mode, and a bunch of daily missions and player levels to advance through. Be warned, however, that your progress won't carry over to the full game.

Turbo Golf Racing really does look like Rocket League in terms of its art style, but the main difference is that it's a race rather than a timed arena match. You're aiming to be the first player to get your ball down the course and into the hole, and you can unlock and equip "Power Cores" that help either by boosting your abilities (eg. allowing you to hit the ball further) or by allowing you to attack your opponents.

Otherwise there are jumps, boosts, air-flips, and bootloads of customisation options for your car. All familiar features.

If you like the beta, Turbo Golf Racing is due to launch in early access on Steam and Game Pass sometime later this year. For now, you can hit the button on its Steam store page or sign up via the office site.

Rock Paper Shotgun is the home of PC gaming

Sign in and join us on our journey to discover strange and compelling PC games.

In this article

Turbo Golf Racing

Xbox One, Xbox Series X/S, PC

Related topics
About the Author
Graham Smith avatar

Graham Smith

Deputy Editorial Director

Rock Paper Shotgun's former editor-in-chief and current corporate dad. Also, he continues to write evening news posts for some reason.

Comments