Skip to main content

Dota 2's matchmaking update introduces rank medals

Gotta get those shiny medals

With Dota 2’s Duelling Fates update just behind us -- read what Matt made of the update -- Valve’s been fiddling around with the ranked matchmaking system, to coincide with the start of the new ranked season. Players will be able to earn rank medals for their profile, showing off their best performance level for the season. And don’t worry -- no matter how many rough games you have, your medal won’t decrease once you’ve earned it.

The update introduces seven levels of medals: Herald, Guardian, Crusader, Archon, Legend, Ancient and Divine. All of them have five stars that have to be earned before you can get the next medal. Party and solo games will both contribute towards most of the medals, but solo games have more of an effect. If you’re gunning for the Ancient and Divine medals, you’ll need to focus on solo, as party games aren’t taken into account.

The leaderboard system has been expanded, too. If you’ve got a five star Divine medal, you’ll get a leaderboard number that broadcasts your position to jealous players. Your position will always be displayed next to your medal, so everyone will always be able to see how very good you are at MOBAing.

Dota 2’s seasonal ranked update is available now.

Read this next