Skip to main content

Electric Heart: Deus Ex Story DLC System Rift Released

Swing from the cyberchandelier

Surly cyberman Adam Jensen is teaming up with the pop star Sia and some wazzock to rob a data bank. That's the premise of the first Deus Ex: Mankind Divided [official site] story DLC, System Rift, which launched today. A little caper and a bit of banks might even put a smile on his cyberface. Here, check out the launch trailer:

Watch on YouTube

Bless 'em! That looks quite fun, doesn't it? Those two managed to put their differences aside and bond a bit in Human Revolution but they're still a right pair of tossers, aren't they. The man who pops his cybershades on every time he wants to emphasise a point is scoffing at his pal calling himself 'Nuclear Snake' as if he's soooo cool. Give over! Go on, hug it out. I want to see hugs by the end of this DLC.

Oh, what are they up to? Right! The official, Sia-less word on the DLC is:

"Re-unite with Frank Pritchard, Adam's friend and former colleague at Sarif Industries, and assist him in hunting down information on the mysterious Santeau Group. Desperate to get more information, Pritchard targets one of the most secure data banks ever created – the Palisade Blade. In agreeing to help, Adam may also be able to uncover hints as to who the Illuminati really are."

System Rift is £9.49/11,99€/$11.99 on Steam. It's also in the DLC season pass, which will bring another story DLC later and offers a load of trinkets and baubles now.

A new patch arrived today too, bringing a few bug fixes. It also updates the current DirectX 12 beta, though that's still not ready to properly launch - you'll need to manually opt in if you want to discover whether it'll boost your performance.

Read this next