Skip to main content

Path of Exile: Ascendancy's New Raider Class Explained

Is Path of Exile your thing?

Path of Exile: Ascendancy [official site] is the next expansion for the multiplayer Diablike, and among its additions are new 'Ascendancy' classes. Information about those classes is being dribbled out by developers Grinding Gears, and there's a trailer for the Raider below.

Watch on YouTube

There are 19 Ascendancy classes in all, each representing a different combat style and with their own skill tree to climb. "Their powers can be claimed by those who prove themselves worthy by defeating Emperor Izaro," say the devs. What that means in practice is that you unlock them by solving the new puzzle rooms - which are a new kind of challenge to Path of Exile - and then conquering the new randomly generated labyrinth and the boss at its end. The expansion also naturally adds new items, gems, enemies and other materials of the ARPG.

Path of Exile is one of those games I have never played and don't know anyone who has played, but which seems to be frightfully popular among a large and dedicated group of people. It feels a little like DoTA did to me, back when that was a WarCraft 3 mod. Probably playing Path of Exile won't be a viable career in five years time, but it does have cute and speedy tortoises.

Ascendancy is due out next year.

Read this next